Solved: Extreme FPS lag in City of Heroes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Chipmunk42

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
6
Why is it in City of Heroes I have about 1 frame per 5 seconds despite meeting the recommended system requirements?

(At least I think I do. Here's a list of them:)

Recommended System Specifications
# Windows® 2000/XP - I have this
# Intel Pentium® 4 1.7 GHz or AMD Athlon XP 1700+ - I have Intel{R} Pentium{R} 4 CPU 2.53GHZ 2.54GHz
# 512 MB RAM - I have 1.50GB of RAM
# 16X CD-ROM Drive - I have this
# 2 GB Available HDD Space - I have 30GB free
# GeForce 5600 or ATI Radeon 9600 Series Video Card - I have Radeon 9600 Series. Is there a difference between this and ATI Radeon 9600 Series? This is my main concern
# 16-bit Sound Card - I have this
# Broadband Internet Connection - I have this
# Keyboard and mouse with wheel - I have this

Sorry about this, but I'm a bit of a 'noob' when it comes to hardware and such. :p
Thank you, any help is much appreciated, I'm wasting more and more of the time I can play the game.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
It seems to me that you should be getting at least a decent FPS with that hardware, so it is odd that your FPS is that low. Try closing all the processes and applications possible before running the game as well. To see if you can run the game sufficiently, try this site here: http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/CYRI/intro.aspx

[Note: The only thing I could see that would cause a problem is the processor, but maybe I'm just not catching the issue. Also, I don't believe that there is a difference between the "Radeon series" and the "ATI Radeon series" though I could be wrong. I'd suggest Googling that for further information.]
 

Chipmunk42

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
6
Ty for the fast response.

Didn't come up with anything useful on google really for the difference in video cards.

I'll make a new post with the results after I've tried it again.
 

Chipmunk42

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
6
Sorry about the late reply, restarted my computer before trying it and once I'm in game it's hard to get out.

Same lag as always, when doing something like creating a character etc it's fine but once actuall ingame it's horrible.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
This is probably due to the fact that the "hardest" gaming (the most intense graphics, animations, etc) would be in-game as opposed to a menu or something of that nature.

Have you tried the URL I gave you in a previous post? This should be able to tell you if you meet the required and/or recommended system specifications.
 

Chipmunk42

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
6
I did, but it got stuck on "installing component" or something, despite following the instructions for it.

Right now I'm having to type on my iPod as I can't get on the computer until morning. Guess I'll try again then.

Any other ideas as to why the lag might be occuring?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
The only thing left is that your hardware isn't powerful enough to do the job. Try the link in the morning, and if you get the "go ahead" from that site, I'll see if I can think of anything else.
 

Chipmunk42

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
6
Oops! Well I've gotten the program to finally work and run smoothly(on low graphics settings then recommended(bit confused there)) by updating my video card driver.. silly me, forgot to do that. :p

Anyway, thank you very much for assisting me. it really is appreciated :)
Chipmunk
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
That would have been my next suggestion after results like that on "CanURunIt." I'm glad you got it sorted out, just mark this thread as "Solved" so more people don't visit it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top