1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Ezulamain?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ltim, Jan 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ltim

    ltim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    everytime I turn on my computer and everything gets loaded and the desktop is all set up, I get one of those "performed an illegal opperation" pop-ups and the blue bar at the top says "Ezulamain" Anybody know what's going on?
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    appears to be spyware

    This product, which seems to change its name every week or so, is foistware installed with KaZaA, a popular Napster-like file sharing program. Once installed, it will insert advertising links in ALL the Web sites you visit, regardless of whether KaZaA is running. Sadly, it is probably touted to newbies a some kind of "useful, can't-live-without tool essential for Internet access", and takes many installer speed-demons* by surprise. More information is available in this article. A link inserted by TOPtext may look like a normal link, then appear highlighted in yellow when the viewer mouses over it.

    http://www.cexx.org/toptext.htm

    after the first link I suggest you go here http://www.lavasoftusa.com/ and download adaware to check and remove any other spyware you have installed
     
  3. AAPlus

    AAPlus

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hello, ltim

    Yes i think it is spyware

    go here & download Ad-Aware & Reflist

    Please make sure that when you run the scaner

    that the Reflist # is 005-16.01.2002

    @ http://spyBware.bravepages.com
     
  4. ltim

    ltim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    you magnificant person:) I do have Kazaa, but I never use it so I plan on getting rid of it. The funny thing is i had adaware a few months ago and got rid of it (don't ask me why, thought it would save some space) You are absolutely right, they make it look like something major is wrong with your computer, been freaking me out for weeks now. A lady on the off-road forum posted this sight today so I figured I would give it a shot. Must be nice to know so much about computers. Thanks again!

    hopefully my cd-burner post I'm making in a few minutes can get some good responses too.

    [edited for language content, sorry]
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66985

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice