[SOLVED] Fail message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
Windows 98 Duron 450
when the computer starts it displays the page that says Duron 450 64meg ram etc. On the same page it says found cd rom then it says found cdrw, then it pauses for about 20 secs and then displays the message "primary master hard disk fail". The computer displayed this message about a week ago and was restarted about 10 times and it displayed the same message each time. Tonight I booted up the computer and it went into windows ok. I restarted the compter several times and it restarted ok. I shut it down several times and it started back up ok. I am now getting this master hard disk fail again. Could it be the cmos battery ? Or is the hard drive junk? I was able to run scan disc ( no bad sectors or errors) and defrag when it did start.
thanks
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
How old is the harddisk? Is it a new one? Check for a setting in the BIOS which is similar to Quick Power-On Self Test, disable that option. See if that helps. Also check the cable connections.
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
How old is the hard drive ? Hmmmmm I'm not sure . It's a 2 gig. Probally about 4 years old is my guess.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
OK, look for that setting in the BIOS and if you find it, disable it. Disabling the Quick POST setting would delay the bootup process by few seconds and in the meantime your HDD will startup and should be detected.
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
Ok Ill try this but it is kinda wierd because this system has been working good with no error messages for over a year now . Do you think the hard drive is developing a problem ??
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
It could be a problem with the HDD. I'm not sure but infact the same has happened to me as well. I've 2 HDDs a 40 GB one and another 2 GB. I had the same problem with the 2 GB HDD, it wouldnt be detected when I start the system, I had to restart few times but later I solved the problem by disabling the Quick POST setting in the BIOS.
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
PVC9. It was gettin late last night so I never got aound to making the change to see if it would work or no. I'll try tonight after work and post how it went .
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
PVC9 . Yes that seems to have cured the problem . Thanks again for the help !
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
Well PVC9, It's doing it again. Primary hard disc fail. The cables are all connected good and I did go into cmos and disabled the post test. It sems to have run fine for about 2 weeks but the message is back. Do you think this sounds like the end of the hard drive? I know before when I was gettin this message and I run scan disc it showed no errors or bad sectors. Suggestions
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
Hmm...I'm not sure if its the harddisk. But just for a trial...connect another harddisk...temporarily and see if you get the same error message again, that way we'll know if its the HDD or some of the connections or settings in the BIOS...try it and post back.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top