Solved: Fatal system error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bonkers72

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
932
Windows xp home. Custom built. Had it for 3 yrs. Just recently I went to shut dowm my pc. It locked up and wouldn't shut down. I had to hit the reset which I hate to do and on start up it got to the screen where it says windows is starting up then the screen goes blank and an error pops up : STOP : COOOO21A Fatal system error. Windows login process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xC0000005 sytem has been shut down. (0x00000000) Then after this error it keeps repeating by Windows trying to load. Please help. Thanks, B-72
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
273
Well first thing I can think of is, try to reboot, but when you get to the System screen press f8 and boot to safe mode.
 

bonkers72

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
932
ok I got in using safe mode. Anything I can do or check? Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
273
Your best bet would be to read and follow the instructions of the link I posted. If that doesn't work just let me know.
 

bonkers72

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
932
A lot of it is "Greek to me" and kinda over my head in detail. Should I try that Dr. Watson First ? Thanks for your patience.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
In Safe Mode I would recommend that you try runnign System Restore and choose a date to restore that the computer still functioned correctly.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,007
I received your PM bonkers72. I would try what Triple6 suggested first and if that does't work then try booting to "last known good configuration".
 

bonkers72

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
932
I just tried to restore to an earlier time {1 week} which was sucessful but "fatal system error still happens. On start up, I noticed, that gigabyte has an F9 option : Express recovery if that would be of any help to us.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,007
Have you recently installed any new software or hardware?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910

bonkers72

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
932
Also just before this problem happened, I had no sound, and still don't.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top