1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: FF not showing window preview

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by qmck1999, Dec 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    When one mouses over the minimized browser tab in the tool bar, it usually pop's up a preview window of the website. I made some changes to my viewing pref's and no longer see the full preview, only a placeholder. How do I get it back?
    thanks.
     
  2. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Are you referring to THIS?

    Or, type about:config in the Firefox address bar.

    Scroll down to: browser.taskbar.previews.enable

    Double-click it to toggle it to True.
     
  4. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Close, but not quite. I have the image, how can I post it?
     
  5. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    I have the setting to show the preview and does not show. I have the same setting on another PC and it does show.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What is the operating system on both computers?
     
  7. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Same for both, Win 7
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Have you tried reinstalling Firefox? Do you have the latest version?
     
  9. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    yes, I just did and no change. humm. perplexing.
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Are you keeping your Firefox profile when reinstalling Firefox?
     
  11. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Both PC's have same version 17.0.1
     
  12. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    sorry did not refresh. Not sure about keeping profile. More info please.
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  14. qmck1999

    qmck1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    gotta love the solution. Had a theme that did not allow the preview. Changed theme and viola! Thanks for your help Phantom010
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Sorry I couldn't really help, but I'm glad you found the solution. (y)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081897

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice