Solved: File And Printer Sharing In Windows Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TW.87

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
308
G'day,

I have just installed Microsoft Windows Vista on two of my computers, and I have Microsoft Windows XP on a third computer.

I would like all three computers to be able to share files, and use the one printer (which is installed on one of the computers with Microsoft Windows Vista).

Can anyone give me some ideas on how to do this?
 

TW.87

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
308
Thank you for the replies!

I am using wireless to try to connect the computers.

Also, I'll have a look at that other thread and see if it helps me out.
 

TW.87

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
308
Unfortunately, due to the locations of the computers, my only option is wireless.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
On each computer's C:, create a folder called ttest_share_computer_name.

Right click the folder. Left click "properties". Left click "sharing". Share it.
Open said folder.
file > new > text file.
Save the file / document in C:\test_share_computer_name


Note "computer_name" will be the name of each computer.
Right click "my computer"
Left click "properties"
In Vista, the computer name is on the main screen

In XP,
Left click "computer name" tab

Also, see http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/vista/Vista_network_options.shtml

which I found at http://www.practicallynetworked.com/networking/,

RF123
 

TW.87

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
308
I had a look at that, but still no luck.

For some reason, I cannot get the computers to all share a printer.

Is someone able to walk me through the steps I need to take to get it configured?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
Your biggest hurdle will be properly configuring any third party firewalls such as Norton and Mcaffee to allow the other machines to be seen in what is called the Trusted Zone.
Unitl that is done, the connections will be blocked. Wireless or wired should make no difference as long as each can access the internet.
 

TW.87

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
308
All of the computers are able to connect to the Internet via the same modem and router.

I do have Norton 360 installed on all of the computers, so perhaps that's the problem.

What would I need to change in Norton 360 to get it all to work?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
"to allow the other machines to be seen in what is called the Trusted Zone"

Check your setup and configuration options. It will either allow you to do it by machine name or IP Scope.............
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top