1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Find and Copy text Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by GaletonDesigns, Apr 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GaletonDesigns

GaletonDesigns Thread Starter

Hello,

I'm new to spreadsheets and would appreciate any help. I tried using the Macro recorder to do this task but it seems to only work for the cell that I recorded the macro on.

Here's what I'm trying to achieve.

I have text in colum A. I would like to find all instances of "BW" in column A and Copy the "BW" to the corresponding column B

Using the macro recorder only copies it in that one cell.

Thanks for the help.

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

I'm a bit confused. Will the string "BW" be the only text in Column A or will "BW" be part of a bigger string in the cell? It sounds like a simple formula would suffice in Column B instead of having to use a macro.

Can you upload a sample workbook or provide some of the actual values that will be contained in column A?

Regards,
    Rollin

3. GaletonDesigns

Each line below represent a cell. As you can see, the BW only occurs in certain cells. I would like to be able to cpy the BW to the corresponding cell in the next column (Col B)

Purple w/White, Orange, & Red Tampo's, w/UH's Hong Kong
    Purple w/White, Orange, & Red Tampo's, w/UH's Malaysia
    Yellow, w/CT's
    Red w/""ZZ-Top"" Tampo's w/BW's
    Yellow w/BW's
    Metallic Blue ""57 Chevy"" on side, GHO's

I hope this is helpful

4. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

You should be able to get by using the built in FIND or SEARCH function in Excel.