1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Finding out model number on Toshiba Satellite

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Shortyman801, Dec 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shortyman801

    Shortyman801 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    I have a Toshiba Satellite A75-2XXX.

    The X's being unknown because the model # is worn off the back.

    So how can I found out the whole model #? I have downloaded EVEREST and it only gives me "Toshiba Satellite a75".

    Also; for some reason when I try to use the PC Diagnostic Tool, all it does is open my browser (chrome) and then closes it back quickly before doing anything.

    And the reason I ask is because I want a RAM upgrade, and need to know what kind of RAM to get. Also, when I do find the number where and how do I find out what the right type of ram is for my computer?
     
  2. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Try belarcadvisor {download]
     
  3. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
  4. Shortyman801

    Shortyman801 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Thanks for the link. I found what I needed.
    But the website says I only have 1 slot (I think)... So does that mean I would have to take out the memory that is already on my computer and replace it?
     
  5. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    are you sure that isnt one slot available?
    if you only have one slot then yes it would have to be removed and new raminstalled
     
  6. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    i just looked at a couple of the A75 models and they were 1 slot
     
  7. Shortyman801

    Shortyman801 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Thanks for the help. I think I have all that I need for an upgrade now!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/779354