1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Finding PIN on a laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pmoonbeam, Mar 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pmoonbeam

    pmoonbeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, I'm trying to connect our ASUS VIJ series laptop to a dlink DIR-615 wireless router. The router connection page asks us to: "Please enter the PIN from your wireless device and click the below "Connect" button".
    Does anyone know how to find the PIN number for the laptop? The laptop uses a wireless g connection. The laptop can find the dlink router's signal on the wireless profiles & has been connected wirelessly in the past to a router (a plug & play type) without a problem. Any assistance appreciated & please remember I'm a beginner, so don't understand a lot of techie terms & need advice step by step, including what may be stating the 'obvious' to a lot of more knowledgeable people!
    Cheers pmoonbeam (Australia).
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,859
    its the router that is asking for a PIN to connect to the wireless - D-Link sometimes do this - Often the password and PIN is written on a label on the actual router
    OR
    you need to log into the router and you may be able to see the password / PIN if not then you can just change it to something you know and use on the laptop

    user manual here
    http://www.dlink.com.au/products/?pid=565
    which will tell you how to log into the router and the wireless settings - click on the resources link
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Generally you should find the PIN (or Access Key) on the router itself. It would be (usually) a 6-8 numeric key. If you are using XP... my guess is that you are using a wireless utility and not Windows Wireless Configuration. If that is the case, then you would want to turn off WPS from the utility and try to connect again, this way you can use your Wireless Network Key / Security Key / Passphrase instead of the PIN.
     
  4. pmoonbeam

    pmoonbeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thansk for your reply. I did wonder if it was the router's PIN, which is on a label on the underside of the the router. However, when I tried this PIN in the field it said it was incorrect, so I went back to trying to look for the laptop's PIN. I'll give it another try & see if I missed a number somewhere. Thanks for your help, much appreciated. Cheers pmoonbeam.
     
  5. pmoonbeam

    pmoonbeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, thanks for your reply. I'll turn the wireless off on the laptop & see what happens by using the router's PIN. Yes the laptop uses its own wireless software, not Windows XP software. I'll see if I can work out how to turn it off & try again with the router's PIN. Thanks for your help, greatly appreciated. Cheers p moonbeam :+)
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,859
    the pin will be in the router and some d-links ask for a KEY and also a PIN

    to remove the KEY stored on the PC have a read here

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to remove Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/t109-removing-an-existing-wireless-profile


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. pmoonbeam

    pmoonbeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, thanks so much for your help. I've managed get our laptop connected finally! I got a support email from dlink which showed me how to set up the wireless connection manually & create a password. (I'm not sure if I can upload the PDF they sent me here about how to do this?) However, when I was using the Intel PROSet wireless utility on the laptop & putting in the password I'd created in the router's interface, it kept giving me an error message: "An error occurred whilst trying to access the profile database" and would not connect. I went searching on the web & found a wireless forum discussing problems with the DIR-615:
    http://www.wirelessforums.org/network-troubleshooting/d-link-dir-615-dwa-130-problems-55609.html

    A forum contributor claims there's a bug in the DIR-615 which "makes the (DIR-615) router malfunction when using mixed wireless mode" The advice was to select only to use 'mixed b & g mode' on the router's interface. It seems to be a problem when using XP, as some one else on the forum using Win 7 wasn't having the same issues wiht the router. There was a fix suggested for XP: "DWA-130 driver for XP."

    I selected 'mixed b & g' on the DIR-615's interface (our laptops only use g anyway), however kept getting the same error message as above. I disabled the Intel PROset wireless utility on the laptop & used the Windows Wireless Network Connection with the password created in the dlink interface & it connected without a problem. I don't know if it was the Intel PROset or the combined wireless b/g/n that was creating the error, but it's solved now. Thanks so much again, I really appreciate the support here. Cheers p moonbeam :+)
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,859
    your welcome (y) thanks for taking the time to let us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/983860