Solved: Firefox and desktop shortcuts?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

robbbb

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
135
Hello
I am using Firefox and really like it but the only way I know how to save a site to my desktop is to: right click them put save to desk top but then you get this folder for every sight. In IE it was just an icon after hitting "make shortcut to desktop"
Is there an easier way with Firefox?
Thanks
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
I usually just save them as bookmarks, but if you want to save them to your desktop have Firefox as a window (not maximized), go to the address bar, grab the small icon on the left side of the url and drag it to your desktop.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
You can grab the icon in the address bar like stantley said, and drag it to the taskbar and hold it there and in a second the desktop will show. You can then drop it on the desktop where you want it. This works if you have the Firefox window maximized like I do.
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
That's pretty cool, I didn't know about the drag it to the taskbar trick. (y)

Thanks Augie, you seem to know all the Firefox tricks. :)
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
stantley
You are welcome.:)
I have been using Firefox since version .08. I am totally hooked on it and don't use IE except for updates.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Darn Augie65 I had missed the right click to save to desktop when netscape 7 came out and was saving to desktop like stantley said all these years and was doing the same in firefox and here your till us what was there all this time and I never knew it. I just did the same in both netscape 7.x and FF and it works great so Thanks. :)
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
You are very welcome.:)
I guess all the wasted time I spend on the computer comes in handy sometimes.:D
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
You are very welcome.:)
You can mark this solved from the thread tools at the top of your post.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top