1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: firefox keeps shutting down

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bhamlinda, Nov 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bhamlinda

    bhamlinda Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    xp - don't need to defrag - completely shut down today
    sometimes I get the message that firefox has performed an error and needs to shut down - if I send the error message to MS it says it's a Java error - Java says I'm fine -
    Sometimes the Firefox page(s) just disappear. I can't figure out what I have done or need to do.
    Thanks much!
     
  2. wannahelp

    wannahelp

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    What version of Firefox? Just because Java says it's ok doesn't mean all is. Depending on the version you may need to do an update. Check the firefox requirements against your current version. If needed update and retry.
     
  3. bhamlinda

    bhamlinda Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    firefox 3.03
    I guess I'll try to solve this
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
    You could try running it in safemode too. If it runs OK in safemode then one of the add-ons is making the trouble so your want to disable them and turn them back on one at a time till you find out what one it is.
    I would start by what add-ons are new or was updated last.
     
  5. bhamlinda

    bhamlinda Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    thanks so much - since the add-ons don't show in add/remove - I guess I'll try to solve this myself
     
  6. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
    The add-on are not in add/remove. I am taking about the extensions you add-on.

    If you go to start, programs, Mozilla Firefox and then to Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode) you can start in Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode).
    This is NOT starting the computer in safemode BUT only Mozilla Firefox in (Safe Mode).

    Then open Firefox and click on tools, Add-ons and it will open a window with all the add-ons you added. You can click on any of then to disable or uninstall.
    Now in Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode) it will disable all of them for you and Firefox should start up like it did when first installed.
     
  7. Mr. Newton

    Mr. Newton

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12,921
    If you still have the problem in firefox safe mode,then you could use this program to save all your firefox settings,bookmarks,passwords,etc.Then uninstall firefox & re download it & you have a backup with your saved settings.
    http://mozbackup.jasnapaka.com/download.php
     
  8. bhamlinda

    bhamlinda Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Thanks all - finally got it done - I'll save that site you recommend - seems like a great site to have on hand.
     
  9. subyroo

    subyroo

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    My FireFox was crashing over the past few days too and it turned out I had a crook stick of RAM, I ran the latest version of Memtest86 Bootable CD and found the problem with my RAM so I removed what I suspected to be the problem stick (oldest) and re-ran Memtest86 which confirmed the problem.

    Firefox has not failed since and I have not had any BSOD either.

    Maybe another angle for you to look at too.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/765052