1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Firefox slow

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by 87654321, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 87654321

    87654321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    yes as slow as molasses in January. I keep hearing that FF is the best thing to come along since sliced bread--SAY WHAT?. I finally installed Version 17.0.1 and it takes fifteen seconds to open this forum. IE 8 opens it in four seconds. I found these tweaks that supposed to speed up page loading and set them as suggested with no increase in page loading time. What you say folks?

    Speed up Firefox tweak.

    1. Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll
    down and look for the following entries:

    network.http.pipelining
    network.http.proxy.pipelining
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

    Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time.
    When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really
    speeds up page loading.

    2. Alter the entries as follows:

    Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

    Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

    Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This
    means it will make 30 requests at once.

    3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer.
    Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0".
    This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

    I am off FF like a dirty shirt unless It will load a page at least as fast as IE 8.
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) 3000+, x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1983 Mb
    Graphics Card: VIA/S3G UniChrome IGP, 64 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 52949 MB, Free - 33182 MB; D: Total - 4281 MB, Free - 962 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer INC., Kelut
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    My Firefox Version 17.0.1 is opening TSG instantly, without any special tweaks. I don't think it really is a Firefox issue. Have you tried running it in Safe Mode?
     
  3. 87654321

    87654321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    No but I will try that now.
     
  4. 87654321

    87654321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    I reset the Browser and now this forum opens in 3 seconds. Apparently doing those tweaks done more harm and no good. Page loads about like my IE 8 now so I can live with that but the bottom line is just about everybody insists that FF is faster than IE. I am yet to see that.
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I've noticed a lot of websites not supporting IE8 anymore. Some won't even load with IE8, but do with Firefox. If using XP, like me, you may not have a choice.
     
  6. DKTaber

    DKTaber

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    Could be an add-on. What happens if you restart FF with add-ons disabled? (click Help, then "Run with add-ons disabled").
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    "Safe Mode" meant "without add-ons", but let's hope 87654321 didn't misinterpret Safe Mode with "booting the computer in Safe Mode (with networking)".

    How to Start Firefox in Safe Mode


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    However, he did reset FF:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. 87654321

    87654321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Well don't know what the problem was if there was a problem. I have the same add/ons and Plugins as before I reset. Bottom line is I am satisfied with FF now. Thanks all.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Firefox slow
  1. inger245
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    134
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083901

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice