1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Firewall / Router Blocking Incoming

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RobMidas, Jul 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Hi hopefully someone can explain to me a way of at least finding out what is blocking incoming connections on my vista pc. Im Virgin Media broadband connected to my downstairs router via RangeMax Wireless-N Adapter WN111v2.

    Now signal is only fair on network and connections screen, but on netgear wireless smart wizard shows 5 out of 8 bars ....54mbps.

    I have forwarded the right ports and i can connect to other servers, and i used to be able to host myself and have no probs with incoming connections .................until

    one day i downloaded a sort of extra firewall program that i was going to use then having installed it i realised it wasnt what i needed so i unistalled it again

    but it seems to have altered my firewall settings drasticly, at first my firewall wouldnt even stay on
    then i learnt how to reset windows firewall which at least got firewall stable again. But ever since my pc will not allow incoming connections.

    even though i still play on servers i cant host a game as everyone gets a time out message.

    So ive read that i may need to contact isp but im sure this is a problem arising from firewall settings !!! is there any way of determining where the problem lies? a system test or something that would tell me exactly what is blocking and why ? or at the very least something to tell the isp as im clueless right now

    thanks

    Rob
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    First step would be to tell us exactly what old and new firewall applications you have or have had.

    I'd also like to see this.

    Please post a HijackThis (current version) Log here.
     
  3. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Well before i changed anything i was just using the Windows Firewall
    The programme i installed then got rid of was Outpost Security Suite and Firewall

    Here is the log file from Hijack
     

    Attached Files:

  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hmm... Nothing obvious there. If you do a port scan from outside the system using something like ShieldsUp for the open ports, are they actually open?
     
  5. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Well heres the text summary

    I dont know much about all this but im thinking why only 1056 ports ?
     
  6. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    oops
     

    Attached Files:

  7. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Yes its port 2100 only for the game and i use hyperlobby client which i opened a port for (not sure if i needed too)

    It used to work fine until i messed with Outpost
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to select a specific port to test if you want to verify it. In your case, it would be port 21.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Hi sorry about the delay

    Results from probe of port: 21

    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
    1 Ports Stealth
    ---------------------
    1 Ports Tested

    THE PORT tested was found to be: STEALTH.

    TruStealth: FAILED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
    - NO unsolicited packets were received,
    - A PING REPLY (ICMP Echo) WAS RECEIVED.

    Is this the reason i cant have incoming ?

     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The ports are all blocked, so something is blocking them.

    Have you simply totally disabled all the firewalls? Can you try a different computer, maybe this is happening at the router.

    What's the exact make and model of the modem and the router?
     
  11. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Hi ... again sorry for the delay im very busy at the moment

    Ive managed to get an incoming connection downstairs

    but still no joy upstairs

    im really confused :confused:

    Totally disable all firewalls ? Well ive tried turning off windows firewall but didnt help

    could my wireless adapter have anything to do with this ?
     
  12. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Heres my setup as i understand it

    broadband --- ambit modem --- netgear wireless g router WGR614 v9 --- (downstairs)
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You have it working downstairs but not upstairs? What's between the router and the upstairs computer?
     
  14. RobMidas

    RobMidas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    whats between ?

    well the wireless adapter that recieves the signal is all i can think of, does that have any security that may be stopping it?
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you do any port forwarding to get things working on the downstairs connection?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/934216

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice