1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Flash Not Working With Google Chrome..

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Sithtiger, Oct 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sithtiger

    Sithtiger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    I have Windows 7 and for some reason I'm having a problem with Flash working properly with Google Chrome. First, I have completely uninstalled and then reinstalled Chrome to no avail. I read where to disable the Flash plugin(s) and that seemed to work briefly, but then the problem comes back very soon. Say I goto YouTube and try to load a video. There will be no picture, but I'll hear the video playing in the background and even reloading the page doesn't help. If I disable one plugin, it will work, but then shortly after, it will stop again.

    I do have two installations of Flash.....that is to say, one that comes with Chrome and another plugin I installed manually. Like I said, I disabled one, but it didn't work for very long. I've also switched and disabled the other instance and that too only worked briefly. I followed these directions. http://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=108086

    If anyone has any suggestions, that would be great. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. BigTobster

    BigTobster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    What is your chrome version number?
    Have you checked to see if this problem occurs in other browsers?
    Also, go here:

    chrome://plugins/

    And then paste back all the info on Flash that you see
     
  3. Sithtiger

    Sithtiger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    My Chrome version is Version 22.0.1229.94 m. Yeah, I tried the plugin thing already, but thanks.
    No, it doesn't seem to occur in Firefox, but then Firefox always seems to have stuttering problems with Flash. It's been that way for a long time though and I've seen that problem with my friends PC....Firefox that is. I'm not worried about that though, I rarely use FF. IE 9 seems to work fine too. It's only with Chrome.

    Even though I've reinstalled Chrome (a few times already), I wonder if Chrome's 'Sync Settings' are getting in the way of things? What I mean to say is.....ya know how I have 2 instances of Flash installed.....one that comes with Chrome and the other I installed manually (remember I've disabled one with the plugins menu).....each time I uninstall Chrome, it might not matter because Chrome automatically restores itself to it's previous condition because sync is on. Would that have anything to do with it? Should I uninstall the Flash plugin that I manually installed into Chrome? Could the two be conflicting even thought I have one of the plugins disabled?
     
  4. BigTobster

    BigTobster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    To answer your questions...

    Google Sync works by storing your profiles and browser settings so that could be causing the problem if there is a Flash conflict BUT if you have disabled one of the plug-ins I doubt that there is.

    Chrome's flash is installed in a completely separate directory and works entirely independently than the normal flash libraries. You could certainly try uninstalling the non-standard Flash but, when I had similar problems to you, that did no good at all.

    I realise that you have looked there already but it would be very useful if you could paste the text of the plugins page as noted above.

    Try disabling accelerated hardware. If you cannot do this on the frame (Because it hasn't loaded), you should be able to do this in the bowels of your plug in settings.

    Also, I would advise you to check your graphics card is up to date - regardless of whether the above solution works or not.
     
  5. Sithtiger

    Sithtiger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Yeah I've tried disabling Hardware Acceleration too, but it did nothing. Here's what the Chrome Plugin looks like. I just copied the Flash part. Did you want the whole thing? Everything is about 4 pages long. I didn't think about updating my video drivers. I'll try that if it starts doing that again. So far, everything seems to be working, but it's done that before, but anyway here is the plugin info about Flash.

    Plug-ins (24)
    Details
    Flash (2 files) - Version: 11,4,402,287
    Shockwave Flash 11.4 r402
    Name: Shockwave Flash
    Description: Shockwave Flash 11.4 r31
    Version: 11.4.31.110
    Location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\22.0.1229.94\PepperFlash\pepflashplayer.dll
    Type: PPAPI (out-of-process)
    Enable
    MIME types:
    MIME type Description File extensions
    application/x-shockwave-flash Shockwave Flash
    .swf
    application/futuresplash FutureSplash Player
    .spl
    Name: Shockwave Flash
    Description: Shockwave Flash 11.4 r402
    Version: 11,4,402,287
    Location: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\NPSWF32_11_4_402_287.dll
    Type: NPAPI
    Disable
    MIME types:
    MIME type Description File extensions
    application/x-shockwave-flash Adobe Flash movie
    .swf
    application/futuresplash FutureSplash movie
    .spl
    Disable Always allowed
     
  6. Sithtiger

    Sithtiger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    I decided to copy the whole thing. I saved it as a zipped .doc file.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. BigTobster

    BigTobster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Perfect thank you.

    Definitely, definitely, definitely have a look at your Video card.

    Also, you have a lot of plug-ins going on there. Take a look at the video based ones and look at removing them where possible. It could be that it isn't Flash that's causing the problem - it is another (poor) plug in intervening that is not allowing Flash to handle things better.

    Your Flash version and plug in implementation looks good though. I think your Flash is OK, Chrome is OK so it is another issue (probably one of the 2 above things). Unlikely but possibly to do with security but that seems very improbable.

    Seeing as you are now fixed, I can only recommend that you mark as solved, implement the above solutions and reopen/repost if the problem returns. (Hope that's OK Mods!)
     
  8. Sithtiger

    Sithtiger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Thanks, I agree.....everything is still working great, so I'm gonna say it's been solved. If something does happen again, I'll try your suggestions....thanks!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1073759