1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: folder rename permission needed

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by rainforest123, Apr 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    I want to rename c:\windows\system 32\catroot2 .

    Because I am having problems with obtaining the updates on a Vista Home Premium SP 0 computer.

    On my computer, Vista Ultimate, SP0, I tried to rename it, logged on as "XX", member of Administrators group.

    UAC is off.

    I activated THE "Administrator" account & established a password.

    Still, I am unable to change the file name. I checked the properties of "catroot2"

    "You need permission to perform this action"

    At http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f9/ho...rmission-perform-action-windows-vista-168657/, I found this, which makes no sense to me.
    takeown /F D:\folder
    cacls D:\folder /g Users:F

    I do not understand.

    Your guidance is eagerly anticipated.

    RF123
     
  2. devil_himself

    devil_himself

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,910
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Try taking ownership. This needs to be done quite a bit in Vista, so if you want you can use this to add the option to your context menu instead of doing it manually:
    Vista Take Ownership Context Menu
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    d_h:
    Will do.

    Logged on as "Administrator", I have created 2 screen shots of catroot2's security tab for "administrators" and "users"

    I want to take ownership of c:\windows\system32\catroot2

    What do you suggest that I type?
    I theorize:
    open command prompt
    type: cd\
    press "enter"
    type: takeown /f /r c:\windows\system32\catroot2
    Press "enter"

    Thanks for the link. I am glad it has an example.
    WHEW! :eek:

    RF123
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Click the Advanced button and then the Ownership tab. You don't need the command prompt if you went this far.

    The context menu addition above makes all of this easy.
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    E:
    !
    Hi there!

    Thanks.

    Destination - access denied refers to my attempt to rename catroot2 to catroot2_old; within Windows Explorer.

    I tried, but failed.

    I tried your way.

    I tried using the command prompt.
    Same error message [ see screen shot ] before and after trying your suggestion, E.

    RF123
     

    Attached Files:

  7. DanDini

    DanDini

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    I would suggest you try booting with something like winpe or bartpe (google for them) and doing the operation from there.

    It's not hard to make a pre-execution boot up disk and it is so useful for many things.

    You may also want to try xcacls which I've had success with:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318754
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    DD:
    Thanks for the link; interesting article.

    I am not interested in using a PE disk, because I don't want to mess up Vista's core.

    RF123
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You need to turn off a service that is accessing the folder. I'll try to find out which and let you know.
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Start > Run: cmd

    At the prompt:

    net stop cryptsvc

    Rename the folder (or delete it).

    Then, back to your command prompt.

    net start cryptsvc
     
  11. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    E:
    d_h: had suggested I try to rename in safe mode. I forgot to note that I tried, and failed.

    I forgot to mention, when I tried to stop cryptsvc, previoulsy, the "system error 5" message appeared.

    I tried your steps.
    ARGH!!!!!!!!!

    **************************************
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\UN>cd\

    C:\>net stop cryptsvc
    The following services are dependent on the Cryptographic Services service.
    Stopping the Cryptographic Services service will also stop these services.

    Panda TPSrv
    Panda Software Controller

    Do you want to continue this operation? (Y/N) [N]: y
    System error 5 has occurred.

    Access is denied.

    C:\>

    **************
    RF123
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    E:
    This thread http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=595122 suggests running as elevated privileges, whatever that means.
    I ran "cmd" as administrator, but received the same "system error 5" message.

    I switched users, to "Administrator"; same result.

    I will disable UAC; restart & try again.

    RF123
     
  13. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    E:
    WITH
    1. UAC disabled;
    2. In SAFE MODE;
    3. NET STOP cryptsvc run

    I was able to rename catroot2.

    Perhaps the 2 Panda services played a part.

    catroot2 remained renamed. A new "catroot2" folder is present.

    WHEW!

    RF123
     
  14. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Yes, most people don't have the Panda services, of course, and I never knew that they were dependencies of the cryptographic service. Most AV's are notoriously difficult to terminate for good reason. They don't want viruses turning them off. So, to end one of these services, it usually means that you have to disable them in services.msc and then reboot.

    Thanks for the followup info.
     
  15. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    E:
    Thank you very much for your guidance!
    (y)

    In my summary, I forgot to mention that taking ownership may have also played a role.

    d_h:
    Thanks for your assistance, as well.
    (y)

    RF123
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701416

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice