Solved: folder rename permission needed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
I want to rename c:\windows\system 32\catroot2 .

Because I am having problems with obtaining the updates on a Vista Home Premium SP 0 computer.

On my computer, Vista Ultimate, SP0, I tried to rename it, logged on as "XX", member of Administrators group.

UAC is off.

I activated THE "Administrator" account & established a password.

Still, I am unable to change the file name. I checked the properties of "catroot2"

"You need permission to perform this action"

At http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f9/ho...rmission-perform-action-windows-vista-168657/, I found this, which makes no sense to me.
takeown /F D:\folder
cacls D:\folder /g Users:F

I do not understand.

Your guidance is eagerly anticipated.

RF123
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
d_h:
Will do.

Logged on as "Administrator", I have created 2 screen shots of catroot2's security tab for "administrators" and "users"

I want to take ownership of c:\windows\system32\catroot2

What do you suggest that I type?
I theorize:
open command prompt
type: cd\
press "enter"
type: takeown /f /r c:\windows\system32\catroot2
Press "enter"

Thanks for the link. I am glad it has an example.
WHEW! :eek:

RF123
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Click the Advanced button and then the Ownership tab. You don't need the command prompt if you went this far.

The context menu addition above makes all of this easy.
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
E:
!
Hi there!

Thanks.

Destination - access denied refers to my attempt to rename catroot2 to catroot2_old; within Windows Explorer.

I tried, but failed.

I tried your way.

I tried using the command prompt.
Same error message [ see screen shot ] before and after trying your suggestion, E.

RF123
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
13
I would suggest you try booting with something like winpe or bartpe (google for them) and doing the operation from there.

It's not hard to make a pre-execution boot up disk and it is so useful for many things.

You may also want to try xcacls which I've had success with:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318754
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
DD:
Thanks for the link; interesting article.

I am not interested in using a PE disk, because I don't want to mess up Vista's core.

RF123
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You need to turn off a service that is accessing the folder. I'll try to find out which and let you know.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Start > Run: cmd

At the prompt:

net stop cryptsvc

Rename the folder (or delete it).

Then, back to your command prompt.

net start cryptsvc
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
E:
d_h: had suggested I try to rename in safe mode. I forgot to note that I tried, and failed.

I forgot to mention, when I tried to stop cryptsvc, previoulsy, the "system error 5" message appeared.

I tried your steps.
ARGH!!!!!!!!!

**************************************
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\UN>cd\

C:\>net stop cryptsvc
The following services are dependent on the Cryptographic Services service.
Stopping the Cryptographic Services service will also stop these services.

Panda TPSrv
Panda Software Controller

Do you want to continue this operation? (Y/N) [N]: y
System error 5 has occurred.

Access is denied.

C:\>

**************
RF123
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
E:
WITH
1. UAC disabled;
2. In SAFE MODE;
3. NET STOP cryptsvc run

I was able to rename catroot2.

Perhaps the 2 Panda services played a part.

catroot2 remained renamed. A new "catroot2" folder is present.

WHEW!

RF123
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Yes, most people don't have the Panda services, of course, and I never knew that they were dependencies of the cryptographic service. Most AV's are notoriously difficult to terminate for good reason. They don't want viruses turning them off. So, to end one of these services, it usually means that you have to disable them in services.msc and then reboot.

Thanks for the followup info.
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
E:
Thank you very much for your guidance!
(y)

In my summary, I forgot to mention that taking ownership may have also played a role.

d_h:
Thanks for your assistance, as well.
(y)

RF123
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top