1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Forceware 56.64 Analog Display Option Removal?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by K-16, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    After installing the latest Forceware drivers (56.64), I noticed they added an "Analog Display" option in my right-click menu. I looked through the manual, looked through my registry, and even contacted NVidia tech-support, but I can't seem to figure out how to remove that menu item. I'll admit this isn't a serious problem compared to all the others, but it's just annoying to have an extra menu item without asking the user whether he/she really wants it. I don't think you guys need my HJT log considering this isn't related to spyware/ad-ware, but merely if anybody knows how to remove the "Analog Display" menu item. :)
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Hiya

    See if you can disable it via the MSCONFIG:

    Go to Run and type MSCONFIG, startup tab. Uncheck the entry for it, apply and restart. If you're unsure which one it is, lets see a list:

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32
    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    I use Mike Lin's Startup Control Panel, so I've already disabled Nvidia's products. I only have my soundcard, system tray, and scan registry running. I'm pretty sure it's a registry setting (managed to remove the Norton Recycling Bin options), but I can't find it. Thanks for replying though.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Okay

    Done some digging, and found this link:

    http://www.neowin.net/comments.php?id=18780

    This is the part I was looking at:

    Now, as you already have it installed, I wonder if we can edit the nv4_disp.inf

    So, just as an idea, go to Find Files, and search for

    nv4_disp.inf

    in all of your hardDrive.

    If you can't see it, do this: Tools | Options. View tab. Tick Show Hidden Files and folders, apply and ok.

    Then, rightclick and open with Notepad. Make sure that Always Use this Program...is Unticked.

    Copy/paste the contents here

    eddie
     
  5. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    I appreciate your help. Really, thank you. Now because I'm a DOS hugger and won't let go of Windows 98 SE (I might on June 2005 or whenever the extension of support ends), the installer I use doesn't use nv4_disp.inf. Instead it uses nvagp.inf. I did a search on my computer to look for an identical file, and sure enough it is sitting right where it should be (windows/inf). That said, man this list is HUGE. I'm having trouble isolating the annoying gimmick. This'll be an eyesore compared to those HJT lists.

     
  6. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
     
  7. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    And here's the last part to the list. Gosh what an eyesore. Thanks again for your help and apologies for triple posting with huge lists.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Good Gravy, well, it sure beats the HT logs :p

    Just been looking around the web, before I tackled that log. Have you tried in the Control Panel, looking at Desktop Utilities, and then Driver Advance. Is the first box ticked? Also, what is the first box? Grabbed this off the newsgroups, and they're a bit vague.

    Also, I assume you've removed the entry for nwiz in the MSCONFIG.

    eddie
     
  9. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    Hmm... That might be for Windows XP, since I don't have a Desktop Utilities/Driver Advance.

    And yes, I always remove anything that looks like it's a gimmick from NVidia every time I use their Forceware installer. Good ol' Startup Control Panel makes it easy for me.
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    See if this has anything:

    Control panel | Display. Settings tab. Advanced Button

    Now, looking in mine, which is an S3 card, I can look at Adapter, then Properties to get the driver info up. However, not sure what Nvidia install.

    Is there any icons in the Control panel that look like they come from Nvidia?

    eddie
     
  11. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    I have the NVidia nView Desktop Manager in my control panel, but I checked on that before posting about this annoying issue. There doesn't seem to be anything related in turning it off. And I already disabled all nView features.
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Lets see what you do have on startup, just in case its under a different name:

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32
    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    eddie
     
  13. K-16

    K-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Messages:
    67
    I apologize for bumping a super old topic (and not replying to what eddie5659 requested), but I've found a "solution." By that I mean I've managed to remove the annoying Analog Display off of the right click context menu. This link here is what pointed me where the source of the problem was:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;180257

    Turns out the Analog Display option happened to be hiding there as well, so I deleted those keys and got what I wanted. Again, sorry for bumping an old topic. This was only so you guys can put a [Solved] on the topic in order for those searching for similar solutions to find it. And thank you for all your help eddie5659.
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Hiya K-16 :)

    Thanks for the feedback, its nice to know its finally solved, as I hate looking at threads that aren't solved. Sad, or what :D

    Will gladly mark this solved :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217868

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice