[SOLVED] formating problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

marko20

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
7
hi all,
thanks for your help. the problem im having is i put my boot up disc in, turn on the computer it does the necc. things then i change the a:/ to c:/ type format c:/s it then comes back with the command that there is insufficent memory to perform the format, format aborted.
im using wx98 2nd edition with 256mb and system info reports ive got 80 % resources free.
ive tried using a different boot up disc but that didnt work either.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
55
I'm assuming you have a boot disk in the A: drive, rather than a bootable CD here.
Make sure its a Win 98 boot disk, not a DOS boot disk. If it is a DOS boot disk then make sure there's no Ramdrive consuming your 1Mb memory. Make sure you're using HIMEM etc. The best solution is to download a Win98 boot disk creator, probably with CD support, which will be optimised for you. Just search in Google and you'll find one. :)
Cheers...
 

marko20

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
7
thanks for your replys.ive downloaded the disc but now when i try putting in my boot disc rather then getting the 3 options(start with, start with out, support etc) its now giving me 2 options asking where iwant to boot from i.e h/d or cd if i choose h/d it starts the comp. up if i choose the c/d i then get back to the 3 options start with, without etc so i choose start with cd support get the a:/ prompt type format but get 'bad command or file name' try changing it to c:/ and get the same thing.have i corrupted a file or something as icant even get to the format stage. ta
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome.

You probably saved the download to floppy. You can't do that. You must save it to desktop, then double click on it to create the floppy disk......just follow the prompts.
 

marko20

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
7
hi and thanks,
saved file to desktop and then saved to floppy.then tried again to format but got the same problem (c:/s bad command or file name).so i changed the drive letter to b:/ then typed format c:/s and it worked as far as it tried to format but came back with the origional message 'insuffecent memory to format c' 'format terminated'
why the drive letter has changed ive no idea as for the error message as no idea.ive tried file checker etc and no problems there.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
Once you save the downloaded boot file to your desktop, place a clean floppy in your floppy drive and then double click on the desktop file icon. This should CREATE a boot disk.

To test your boot disk, leave the dick in the floppy drive and power down. Then power up and the system should boot to an
A:\> prompt. If it doesn't boot to an A:\> then your boot disk is not working.

Remember, a boot disk must be CREATED, not COPIED.
 

marko20

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
7
hi,
right theres nothing wrong with the disc as ive tried it on my other pc and it works fine i.e i get the a:/ prompt but try it in the comp. im trying to format i still get the same insuffecent mem. error.
 

marko20

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
7
hi,
cheers cowboy622 this has worked fine.
but now its formatted ive encountered another problem ,error message reads 'windows requires 'largest executable program size' to be at least 442368 bytes to run' after typing d:/ set up this is what it saying were do i go from here.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Did you run fdisk first, then set active partition?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
With the boot disk, at the a: prompt,

type fdisk and press enter, enable LBA support, then follow instructions to create active partition. I assume the hard drive is larger than 540 megs ( I think that is the drop off for LBA not being asked about ).

Then format c: again.
 

marko20

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
7
hi,
thanks for your help everybody.im up and running again.(until next time!!)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top