Solved: Friends IE Hyjacked By Yoogee.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jparr111

I suggested Ad Aware and Spy-Bot to start with. (Windows 98)
Run virus protection
Restart computer.
I'm no expert by any means. Is this enough??
More info...
She uses Ad Aware daily. Also... was trying to download AVG when the problem started. ( I don't think related)
More info...
Seems she deleted her McAfee before downloading(it never finished) AVG.
I see more than yoogee problems ahead.

cybertech

Retired Moderator
I have not heard of that one, can you get a hijackthis log from the machine?

jparr111

I've been researcing(google) this. Seems it does exist. (old one)
As for LOG... She's a lurker here. I posted shortcut there to here. Told told her to join and ask for help.
Told her to ask what to do and be patient.

She removed her McAavee before what her brother-in-law told her she needed...AVG.

I'm sure she is VERY infected now.

jparr111

cybertech said:
I have not heard of that one, can you get a hijackthis log from the machine?
I feel stupid. Her IE has been hyjacked. Yoogee is what she gets.
I sure hope she follows my advise and joins and posts here.

I am the friend whose IE was Hyjacked By Yoogee. I found "Internet Optimizer" in my system and Un-Installed it. YooGee is now gone and I have my Internet Explorer back. From searching about this "thing" I understand there are probably more unwanted files that "Optomizer" has attached to my computer. Thank you both for your help.

cybertech

Retired Moderator
Good for you on finding and removing that junk! :) Feel free to post a log to this thread if you would like to and I'll be happy to offer suggestions.

BTW, Welcome to TSG!!