1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Frozen cursor

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by osewfine, Oct 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. osewfine

osewfine Thread Starter

I have windows xp & last night my cursor froze up. I replaced the mouse but that made no difference. I used the keyboard to navigate & did a system restore to 2 days previous. That did nothing. I powered down several times & still no results. I was playing spider solitaire that came with the computer when the cursor froze. This morning when I turned the computer back on the cursor was working again, but when I started playing spider again it froze up after a while. I powered down & got the cursor back, but who knows for how long. Could the spider game be causing this? I'm running my virus scan right now & so far no threats. Please advise.

2. waggy19

waggy19

Hi,
    Not a great fan of these games but have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling them. If you go into add/remove programs and click on add/remove windows components at the left side, take the tick out of the games box, apply and reboot. Go back into the same place and put the tick back into the games box. Reboot again and try the game. Not sure if this will work but it's something to try.

3. osewfine

osewfine Thread Starter

Thanks for your quick reply. I went to the add/remove windows components & there was no check next to the spider game. I tried to add it and received a message to insert disk for the game. I don't have a disk as this was a program that came with the computer. I haven't played the game anymore to see if the cursor stays live. Is there a possibility that the game has expired. I have noticed for the past few months that the same games seem to come up very often.

4. Claymore

Claymore