1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Gateway 300S Memory Upgrade Problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cwwozniak, Jul 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55,487
    One of our older (2003) Gateway 300S computers at work running Windows XP home gives a low memory warning when opening certain MS-Excel files. When I checked the system settings I found out that it only had 128 Meg of RAM. Entering the serial number on the Gateway site shows that this #5000643 256 MB, PC133, 168 Pin DIMM SDRAM is a suitable part to increase the memory:

    http://accessories.gateway.com/Acce...=Browse&static=1&tpcid=1000&productid=3053821

    Someone went to the local Fry's at lunchtime and, based on the salesperson's recommendations, purchased a 256 MB PQI 48750 / MS3856UOE part as described here:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820141205

    It fit and locked into the second slot on the motherboard with no problems. All I got was 3 long POST beeps when I turned the computer on and that is as far as it went for boot up. I powered down and then tried just the new memory in the slot used for the original 128 MB part and got the same POST beeps. The computer still boots normally with just the original 128 MB of RAM.

    Am I missing some detail in the specs that makes this new memory not compatible with the Gateway 300S or could we have just purchased a bad part?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    51,776
    Could be not compatible or it could be bad.

    There's a lot more then just matching the speed. Some computers require the memory to be single sided while others need double sided. Sometimes the latency needs to be a certain number as well. And other times a motherboard refuses to work with a certain brand for unknown reasons.
     
  4. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55,487
    Yes I did. As mentioned in my original post, I entered the S/N on the Gateway web site and it said I needed the PC133 type.

    The Kingston memory web site also shows the two versions of the Gateway 300S. Kingston seems to have some type of Gateway specific 256 MB PC133 part:

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...http://www.kingston.com&ktcpartno=KGW3400/256
     
  6. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
    Well Kingston is ok but I would not spend $68.00 on one 256 MB stick of pc133 ram from them.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    51,776
  8. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55,487
  9. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55,487
    Ordered it last week for $43.98 USD including S&H. Came in yesterday afternoon. Installed it first thing this morning. PC booted to the Windows XP Log-on screen with no problems. Waiting for the user to log on and try to open the MS-Excel file. Not expecting any problems. Marking this one solved.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/484570