1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] GeForce MX4000 problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dmurfitt, Feb 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dmurfitt

    dmurfitt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    618
    When I install a GeForce MX 4000 on any hardware setup (with Win XP), I get an additional IEEE1394 device appear, which I am unable to get rid of. Have tried various driver to no aval.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    if you have no ieee devices see if you can disable it in the bios
     
  3. dmurfitt

    dmurfitt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    618
    the IEEE device only appears after the graphics card has been installed. It's as if the device is a part of, or on the graphics card...
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i used to use the mx400 and just put one in my daughters comp. 2hrs ago no ieee has ever appeared i don't know anything much about ieee thats why i suggested the bios
    i found this discription of it
    ew chip GeForce MX 4000 was launched to
    substitute GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP 8x, being one
    simple chip however with a performance
    proportionally good and mainly, cheap. This chip
    will be sufficiently popular in enywhere. The
    AOpen finishes to launch three plates using this
    new chip: Aeolus MX4000-V64 (with 64 MB), Aeolus
    MX4000-V128 (with 128 MB) and Aeolus MX4000-DV128
    (with 128 MB and exit DVI for liquid or as
    monitorial crystal monitors of video, using an
    adapter). All they have S-VĂ­deo exit.
     
  5. dmurfitt

    dmurfitt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    618
    Yeah, it is the AOpen one. But using the NVidia standard driver the phantom device still appears. We have tried this on another machine/hardware setup, and still the same problem. Any more ideas?
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    did a search on the net but came up empty
     
  7. dmurfitt

    dmurfitt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    618
    Yeah, same here.

    Just wondered if anyone else had this happen to them...?
     
  8. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    one of the techs might have run into it and have an answer when they come online
     
  9. dmurfitt

    dmurfitt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    618
    ok, thanks.

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  10. dmurfitt

    dmurfitt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    618
    Fixed it! Had to update the firmware on the card in the end, and the 'bang' went away.

    Thanks you for help! :D

    Dan
     
  11. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    thanks for posting solution
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/206971

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice