1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: General XP problems (BSOD) my friend keeps having - Help much appreciated!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lightning89, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lightning89

lightning89 Thread Starter

Hey guys,

A friend of mine has been having computer problems as of late, and we're not quite sure what is causing it. He describes the symptoms as his internet connection keeps mysteriously dropping or disconnecting, and he randomly gets Blue Screens. I'm no real expert on computers, but he's had the 'downloader', 'fake alert' and 'taskdir' viruses lately, and i'm guessing that they could be what is causing it. He's tried tonnes of scanners and stuff, but none seem to get rid of them.

Anyway, he took the number down written on the blue screen which is;
    '*** STOP: 0x00000050 (0xe3914000, 0x00000000, 0x804f2830, 0x00000001)'

I've also asked him to do a Hi-Jack this log, here are the results;

I hope this helps, and if anyone has any idea what the problem may be or how to fix it comments would be much appreciated! Thanks a lot for your time.

- Lee

2. mcse72

mcse72

First off he has Spyware files running on startup, these 3 for example:
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Nord] C:\WINDOWS\system32\nordsys.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [system spool] C:\WINDOWS\system32\syspools.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Agent] C:\WINDOWS\system32\alsys.exe

First thing to do is to download AdAware or Spybot S&D (which are free) to get rid of this and whatever other infections he has. This will also probably take care of the blue screen issue as well.

3. lightning89