Solved: Getting Started

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BunsenBruner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
51
We are giving our daughter a new laptop for Christmas (well, she's saved for most of it, we're just giving the remainder of it) and we bought a wireless router for use at home.

Is there a good thread in here that shows how to get started with a new wireless network and keeping it secure?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
HERE is an article from Microsoft detailing the basics.

If you would like more one on one help, let us know and someone here can walk you through it.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
You're welcome. Hope it all works out nicely. If not, post back on here. I'll even be here on Christmas. ;)
 

BunsenBruner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
51
We bought a DLINK DIR-615. We live in a two-storey townhouse with the router on the main floor next to my computer. I have the router set up with a password and with DHCP reservations so I hope I'm reasonably secure.

Since installing the router (my PC is hardwired to it), we've been having some performance issues with Mozilla. Most of the time that we start the browser and navigate to a page the programs stops responding temporarily and takes a while re-start and begin the navigation.

Does anyone have any experience with fixing this problem?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Is this behavior present only while running Mozilla Firefox? (i.e. Does the same thing happen in Internet Explorer?)
 

BunsenBruner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
51
It seems to be only with Mozilla. I tend to use Mozilla as I've heard it's faster and more secure. :cool:

I've seen some notices about Intranet settings. Is this something I should be looking at?

Edit - I tried IE but I had the same problem as well.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
as I've heard it's faster and more secure. :cool:
It is, and that's why I use it. :D

Now that bit about Intranet settings, I don't think that would solve anything, but if you find out something more specific...tell me.

Have you tried uninstalling Firefox and reinstalling? If you're concerned about saving bookmarks, you can save them as an HTML file and import them later. (If you need instructions on how to do this, just ask.)
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
I'll message one of the networking guru's to come over here and check this out.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,490
Make sure the time and date are set correctly on the router. This may cause problems accessing https sites.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
The firmware with which the DIR-615 ships is problematic at best, so make sure you have the latest firmware; then reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it.

What results do you get with something like Speedtest.net with a connection directly to the modem and with an ethernet connection to the router?
 

BunsenBruner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
51
I've checked the time and date and changed those.

My speed test results are:

Direct Connect:
Download: 28.33 Mb/s
Upload: 0.97 Mb/s
Ping: 56

Connected through Router:

Download: 24.54 Mb/s
Upload: 0.95 Mb/s
Ping: 76
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Shouldn't be that much degradation, but I doubt that you can notice that with "normal" surfing. Is the other computer(s) experiencing the same problem?
 

BunsenBruner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
51
The other computer seems to be fine. It's only my hard-wired PC. I stand corrected, both the PC and laptop are having problems.

I've reset the router to factory settings and tried again but I'm having the same problems.



I'm now having problems with my home-group network. The message is "Peer Networking Grouping service [p2psvc] isn't running."

Either to Peer Name Resolution Protocol service (PNRPsvc) or the Peer Networking Identity Manager service (p2pimsvc) is not running.
:confused:

Now what?

I'm wondering if I bought a crappy router and if I should return it for a better one. My daughter will be using it for basic internet surfing while I use my PC primarily for online gaming.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top