1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Google keeps hijacking my home page

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jimmcq, Feb 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Help anyone,
    This should be simple but... . I want to use att.yahoo.com as my home page but Google keeps hijacking me. I have gone to Tools, Internet Options, changed from google to https://att.yahoo.com, clicked apply then OK and proceeded to surf. Coming back to my home page att is gone replaced by Google. What am I doing wrong?


    Please help,
    Jim
     
  2. weirdtoys

    weirdtoys

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    what web browser are you using?
     
  3. weirdtoys

    weirdtoys

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    If it is google chrome , under settings you will see an option that says on startup, and below it is 3 options. Select open a specific page and then click set pages to see if it already has an option entered , if not enter yahoo.com

    Hope this helps
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Do you have SUPERAntiSpyware installed on that computer?
     
  5. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    I'm using IE because my favorite, Firefox keeps crashing!!!
     
  6. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Phantom,
    No I don't have SUPERAnti Spyware installed. Should I have it installed? If so where do I go to get it?
    Jim
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I was only asking because SUPERAntiSpyware has a built-in Home Page Protection that you can enable or disable. If enabled, the Home page can't be changed.

    If you don't have that program, no, you don't need to get it.
     
  8. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Weirdtoys,
    No, its not Chrome, just plain vanilla Google which I'm starting to believe is in cahoots with Bing, which I can't get rid of. I've gone to Manage addons, clicked Search Providers but the Remove, or Clear, I've forgotten which it is, is grayed out. Won't work.
    Jim
     
  9. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,164
    First Name:
    Liz
  10. mtzlplex

    mtzlplex Account Closed

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,650
  11. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    plodr,
    Been there, done that. As soon as I go away from Internet Options, Google comes back.
    Jim
     
  12. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    mtzlplex,
    Went into Mozilla support, etc. Firefox crashed once while it was resetting my system. Its been almost 5 minutes since that crash so maybe it fixed itself. I went into the crash report and found what I suspected, they don't log in every crash. I've had several today and none of them are in the report.
    Jim
     
  13. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    mtzlplex,
    Mozilla support was no help, still getting crashes.
    Jim
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What do you mean by resetting your system? Didn't you reset (refresh) Firefox?

    Like I suggested in your other thread, have you tried running Firefox in no add-ons mode?

    How to Start Firefox in Safe Mode
     
  15. jimmcq

    jimmcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Phantom,
    I clicked Refresh and it appeared that Firefox was taking control and refreshing me. That's when the crash occurred.

    I'm in Firefox Safe Mode. Didn't know such a thing existed.

    As I typed the last word, existed, I was kicked out of safe mode and got an apology note from Firefox that "this is embarassing" (can't spell) and was reset in plain Firefox. Back in Safe Mode, so far so good.

    Jim
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Google keeps
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,444
  2. garensmith
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    295
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143857

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice