1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: got a new network card

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gmcsierra99, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i just got a rand new Belkin network card this after noon, installed it, then when i went to install the Verizon DSL cd, everything met the requirment except for the NIC? dont why it is doing this, maybe someone else does? thanks.
     
  2. DBClark

    DBClark

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    Is there any problems with the card in the device manager?
     
  3. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    the card is in device manager, what do you mean problems?
     
  4. DBClark

    DBClark

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    Not listed, exclamation point or red X.

    Just wondering if Windows recognizes the card and working properly is all.

    Outside of that...have no idea why Verison DSL had a problem with it.

    Just for the heck of it. Open a dos prompt start->run->type cmd and hit enter. The type ping 127.0.0.1. That is the loopback to see if your computer is communicating with card.
     
  5. DBClark

    DBClark

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    I just did a quick check of Verisons system requirements for service and as far as NIC's go, just states a 10Base-T Ethernet card. Nothing out of the norm.
     
  6. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    yeah well i have a 10Base-T Ethernet card, im going to try what you said in post 4.
     
  7. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    ok DB, i tried to type in cmd, but it didnt work.
     
  8. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i did that ping thing too. i got something Reply from... i dont know it went fast. there was 3 of them i think.
     
  9. DBClark

    DBClark

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    I may have made an incorrect assumptions here. What operating system are you using?
     
  10. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
  11. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i just moved the card to another slot, but it still didnt work, and when i put the Verizon DSL cd in, it still had an "X" next to NIC :confused:.
     
  12. DBClark

    DBClark

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    644
  13. DBClark

    DBClark

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    Instead of typing cmd to get to the command prompt, type "command" and hit enter. That should give you a DOS window. Then you can type -> ping 127.0.0.1 <-

    The results should be 0% Loss.
     
  14. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i got the CD, i put it in and it ask me which place it would like to install from or whatever, and i tryed all the options, and none of them worked, soo i clicked Cancel, and i forget what happened after that but i know it said the drivers were installed.
     
  15. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    ok i typed in ping, do i have to do them arrow things to? nothing happened.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437578

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice