1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Graphic/Video Card upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by StarwolfJohnson, Feb 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. StarwolfJohnson

StarwolfJohnson Thread Starter

Hello, I am planning on buying a graphics/video card and I am a tech tard simply put. I am looking for enlightenment and guidance into buying a new graphics card. My purpose of having a new graphics card is mainly so I can play Sims 3 with higher settings on like Advanced Rendering nothing beyond that really. With a little research I have already done on my own I do understand how to put in a new graphics chip in and that the current chip I have is integrated. Any information will be appreciated, thanks ;)!

My Computer Specifications are as follows-

------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Operating System: Windows Vista¬ô Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2

System Manufacturer: Compaq-Presario
    System Model: NC696AA-ABA SR5710Y
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4450e (2 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
    Memory: 2942MB RAM

Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Display Memory: 1336 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 121 MB
    Shared Memory: 1215 MB
    Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Compaq WF1907 Wide LCD Monitor

2. ajkane

ajkane

First things first, we need to know your PSU specs. Open your computer and post the Wattage and amperage on all the rails.

3. Robsy128

Robsy128