Solved: Graphics card malfunctioning?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Automaton539

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
153
Ok, so here's my problem... Every so often, and especially it seems, so far, when i turn on my computer, and also generically at other times, my monitor suddenly says no signal and I start getting a strange noise from the fans on my gpu. I have checked that it is the fans on the gpu, as opposed to somewhere else, and was wondering what the potential problem is because this isn't something I have come across before and all the help i can find on google is just talking about the noise, not making any mention what so ever about the image loss of the screen.

Thanks in advance for any help. Especially if it helps :)
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,602
is the video cards fan clean? any dust in it? could be the fan is at the end of its life and u need to replace the fan(s)
 

Automaton539

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
153
I'm pretty sure it is, and it had better not be coming to the end of it's life because it's still pretty new.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
Listing all your computers hardware including make, model and wattage of power supply would help us assist you better.
 

Automaton539

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
153
Once I get back to my desktop I can do that for you as the info in my profile is old. I will check to see if it's just dirt first though. And it did occur to me that maybe it might be a power issue, I think I might be near my limit with the new GFX card. Old one barely needed any but this one plugs into the psu directly so it takes a lot more to run.
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,969
You say the graphics card is fairly new, so I am assuming you have upgraded? If that is the case then the power supply is certainly a possible culprit for the problem if you didn't upgrade that aswell. So, as said, if you can provide more information about your whole system we can advise better :)

Make and model if its a big brand name like HP, Dell, Acer etc.

Otherwise make and model of Graphics Card, motherboard, CPU, power supply etc.
 

Automaton539

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
153
About all I can say at present, before I can get home and get the exact spec, is that it's an nvidea 660ti, i3 2100 3.1 processor and a 650w Psu.
 

Automaton539

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
153
Ok, here you go guys, That's what i have and I'm using a 650w PSU. (Though i actually have 2x4gb RAM but limited by XP) Sorry it took so long)

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel Pentium III Xeon processor, x86 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3563 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti, -2048 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 49999 MB, Free - 11259 MB; D: Total - 426930 MB, Free - 174520 MB;
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., B75M-D3V, x.x, To be filled by O.E.M.
Antivirus: ESET Smart Security 5.2, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
249
"650W PSU" is meaningless. There are so many companies like WinPower and ColorsIT that push out these cheaply made "junk" power supplies that rarely do the power they say, and may fail at under half the rated power. Anybody can claim something, but unless you can trust what they say then it doesn't mean anything.

What brand/make/model is the power supply?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
249
lol well look at the reviews on that page. It isn't a known brand, meaning quality is questionable at best. A good 600W psu should power your card easily, yet there's somebody on that website who tried to run a GTX460 and it exploded on them.

You should really replace that PSU ASAP with a branded one like CoolerMaster, Corsair, Antec etc etc. Expect to pay £50-£70 for one. £25 for the one you have should have set off alarm bells(!)
 

Automaton539

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
153
To be fair, going on them dates, the only review on there when I got it was the one that said it was good. And it's on offer at the mo, it's usually £30 and since it's an overclock make I figured it would be good since it has a good rep in general.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
249
To be fair, going on them dates, the only review on there when I got it was the one that said it was good. And it's on offer at the mo, it's usually £30 and since it's an overclock make I figured it would be good since it has a good rep in general.
£30 is still less than half what I'd expect to pay for a branded 600W PSU. Most people will be happy with it because they won't be powering huge graphic cards off it, and if it's rated 600W but can only do 300W most people won't notice. It's only when you start plugging in high-powered devices you get problems.

I paid £50 for mine USED!

Okay, let us know if you need any help getting another power supply.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top