Solved: Graphics Card/Power Supply woes? :(

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

llOriginll

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
68
I have a 550w HEC 550 TD - PTE

AC Output 230v 50Hz 7A
DC Output +3v +5v +12v1 +12V2 -12U +5VB

Max A 30a 38A 18A 17A 0.3a 2a

+5 +3.2v Combined 185Q

Total Output 550.

I 'was' going to buy a nVidia 275GTX, (about £150) and I think as it says the minimum power output needed is 550w so I should be OK?

Otherwise I'm rocking a AMD Athlon 4600+ (big weak spot, I know, next on list to upgrade), 4Gig of 677Mhz DDR2 and some ****ty generic HDD :p

TL DR:

Can my power supply run a 275GTX, if not what power supply should I get and if I do have to upgrade, would I be better off splashing some extra cash on something beefier?

Thanks guys,

Chris
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
I'd go for the slightly more expensive Corsair 650 that BG-0 linked to.

HEC is not a major/respectable brand.

Your mobo is old, early AM2. And may not support todays X3 or X4 cpus (check the website and see if they have a BIOS update), much less the improved X2 CPUs. The AMD 7850 (2.8Ghz) is a pretty good deal at $60USD and OC to 3.2Ghz without raising voltage.

Cool thing is, you can buy an AM2+ board and plug in an AM2 or AM3 CPU ;)
If you need a new board, skip the SLI mess... waste of money spending an extra $50~75usd on a feature you haven't used.

If by chance YOU can hold-off for 2-3 months, the new DX11 cards will be hitting the streets. Sooo, you may want to upgrade your CPU/mobo first if you're planning on Windows7.

Expect the upcoming ATI 5770 to be about $100~120USD and have the horse power of a 4870/90 card. (well.. I'm guessing, based on the $100 4770 being as fast as the old $200 4850)
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
The 650 will handle a high-end single video card (even with 2GPUs) - bit its up to you. If you want to power up 2 video cards, you should have 850+ for overhead. :(
 

llOriginll

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
68
'Tad confused now :p

I'm using a M232-SLI Deluxe which I thought would support a fairly high range of CPUs nowadays and the chips you seem to be suggesting are lower than what I'm using right now I thought? (being that the 4600+ athlon is Dual core)

Then again I've been out of the game for a while, $60 just seems a bit low cost to an upgrade for a 4600+ xD

Could you link me to some upgrades? I've been out of the game for a while in terms of computer upgrading so I'm a bit confused by some of these numbers... I'm not the techiest person ever, I just kinda know basics :)

EDIT: But you are right, I don't need a SLI board, I've never got two cards at once and by the time I could get a second card it makes more sense to just upgrade.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
Uh... link to YOUR specific board. On newegg, your motherboard came out in 2006... a fairly high end board. But its an AM2 board. If it can't TALK to a modern AMD CPU because of its age... then you'll have to replace the board.

What does price have to do with anything (sometimes?). Fools spent $1000 for intel Pentium Extremes (3.6Ghz) that were slower than $150~200 AMD64-3200 (2.2Ghz) for gaming.

In late 2006, 2GB of RAM (800mhz) was about $200. Today, that same memory is about $25... you can buy 4GB of RAM for $25~50!

The X2 4600 (2.4Ghz) has been discontinued a long time ago, AM2 is being phased out.

The best 2.8Ghz AM2 is the 5400: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103235 Its $62.

The $60 7850 would smoke the 5400 and your 5600 and thats before overclocking it!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103678

Here is a chart: Locate the chips of intrests, remove the ones you dont want:
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/default.aspx?b=48

4600 = 75fps AM2
5600 = 82fps AM2
7850 = 95fps AM2+ (100+fps @3.2ghz)
8650 = 85fps AM2+

The 5600 isn't much of an upgrade. Its a cooler & faster clock version of your 4600.

The X3 8650 is faster than the 5600... not by much, but its the older/lame version of AMD Phenom CPUs... At $80, its slower than the NEW $60 7850. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103253

A $70~90 Modern AM2+ board will allow you to drop in a $100~120 X3 CPU.

X3 710 = 107fps
X3 720 = 112fps (120+fps @3.0~3.2Ghz)

Run through the benchmark tests doing Photoshop and other jobs.

I gather you spent about $200 on the 4600... don't feel bad. I spent $285+tax for a 320k floppy drive.... or $800 for an Pentium III 800Mhz CPU.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
'Tad confused now :p

I'm not the techiest person ever, I just kinda know basics :)

EDIT: But you are right, I don't need a SLI board, I've never got two cards at once and by the time I could get a second card it makes more sense to just upgrade.
I build systems. Mostly AMD. :)
If your board is about 3 years old and you want a NEWER CPU... I'd look at this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128387

$110. It does support crossfire... Not full blown 2x x16 slots, but its double bandwidth over what you have now. Or for $85: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128385 But its been picky with DVI/HDMI and certain monitors with its onboard video... stick in a video card, not a problem. Both will perform the same.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
I build systems. Mostly AMD. :)
If your board is about 3 years old and you want a NEWER CPU... I'd look at this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128387

$110. It does support crossfire... Not full blown 2x x16 slots, but its double bandwidth over what you have now. Or for $85: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128385 But its been picky with DVI/HDMI and certain monitors with its onboard video... stick in a video card, not a problem. Both will perform the same.
790x-UD4P overclocks like crazy though, from reading the reviews.
Then put anything between 7(7/8)50 and PhII x3 720 onto it and it will keep you going for quite a few years. Save the 15£ on the power supply, 650TX will run you until you actually need an upgrade other than the graphics card (wait for DX11 cards if possible by any means), when you need more than the 650TX, the prices will probably have dropped a lot.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
If a single video card system needs more than 650watts, then there is something very wrong!

On idle with a 4890/GTX275, the system is eating about 200 watts. When full usage, about 500. But perhaps the 750watt would be okay... based on those kinds of numbers. Here is a detailed article on various GPU power usages/requirements:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-radeon-power,2122.html

Its pretty good... you want your PSU to be about 65% used at the most... but not too low.
 

llOriginll

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
68
That makes alot of sense, I know my current board can support FX chips from AMD so you know, but I think upgrading my board and my power supply ready for the DX11 GPUs is a good idea.

What a rip off nation the UK is though, the cheapest I can get that board is £100:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-li...ive=7978&creativeASIN=B00104WS28&linkCode=asm

When that's £34 more than a straight conversion? Sigh...

Anyway, I'm thinking:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-li...ive=7978&creativeASIN=B00104WS28&linkCode=asm - Amazon: GA-MA790X

And the:

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Product/31042/Corsair-PSU-650W-CMPSU-650TX-ATX12V-v2-2--5-year - Microdirect: Corsair 650W PSU

That should set me up nicely for a DX11 graphics card and then what processor should I be looking at/waiting for? :) Let's say I wouldn't mind dropping about 70-90£s on it.

EDIT: Wanted to add my thanks for your help guys, it's really appreciated and I know I wouldn't be getting my money's worth if it wasn't for your knowledgeable guys out there!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
Okay, with those prices, http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Product/41187/Gigabyte-motherboard-GA-MA78GM-UD2H--AMD-AM2-DDR2 or http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Product/39925/Gigabyte-motherboard-MA790XT-UD4P-AMD-AM3-790X (needs DDR3 memory though. These should work)

The 790X-DS4 isn't really worth that much by any means. Bad OC capability, a bit worse features, and it honestly is old compared to the others. The 790XT is a bit faster, and might just support more future AM3 CPUs than the AM2+ boards.


For the time before the DX11 card, Radeon 4670 or 4830 should do well.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
DDR3 on AMD CPUs don't improve performance, neither does DDR3 help Core2 CPUs. So you're looking at spending a bit more money for DDR3 RAM... unless its 4GB of DDR3 is down to the price of DDR2 800/1066.

Any CPU that is within your budget will work.
The best deals are the 7850 and X3 720 (They are unlocked and good performers at stock speeds)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
DDR3 doesn't, but the improved Hyperstransport speed on a true AM3 board should give some kind of a benefit.
 

llOriginll

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
68
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top