1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Graphics Card Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RobertE92, Oct 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RobertE92

    RobertE92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Hi guys, I'm new on here, this is the first time i've actually posted but when I have a problem this is usually the first place I look.
    My computer is custom built from about 6-7 years ago, it is running windows xp home edition and is a 32bit machine. I currently have an ATI Radeon 7000 Graphics card on my computer (older than the dinosaurs, i know!) and was just wondering if an ATI Radeon 9200 card would work, would the motherboard support it?.
    I know i haven't supplied a lot of info so please feel free to ask me any questions and i'll do my best to answer them!
    Thanks in advance, Robert.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    Does that Motherboard only have a AGP slot for a Video card?

    What wattage is the Power supply?
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,678
    If it is the mb in your sig, then it should work ok however I would do some things first;

    1 With that old of a mb, I would give it a VERY close inspection with a bright light. Look for any bulging/leaking/discolored capacitors. If you find any, do not waste your time or money.

    2 If you have not replaced the pw supply since it was built, then I would think about replacing it. 6~7yrs is a LONG time to use a pw supply.
     
  4. RobertE92

    RobertE92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    I think it is a PCI slot but I'm not sure. How would I know for sure?
     
  5. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
  6. RobertE92

    RobertE92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Yes its an AGP slot. Does this matter?
     
  7. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    If replace the video card you will need an AGP Video card...but your power supply might have difficulty running a new card
     
  8. RobertE92

    RobertE92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    MY power supply unit was changed 1-2 years ago and has an output of 300W.
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Well as the PC is quite old.....and 300W is just basic power ...so instead of putting money into it ...you could get a newer AGP video card but it may not run very well with 300W powersupply.
     
  10. RobertE92

    RobertE92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks I'm going to get a new custom built computer for gaming in about a year when I have enough money saved its just that I can get this card very cheap so I thought it might do for another year or so. The exact title of the card is "ATI Radeon 9200 256MB DDR TVO AGP Graphics Card". I'm just curious to know what "TVO" stands for, as i assume AGP means it will work with my PC?
     
  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    TVO = TV output, which is probably an s-video output

    AGP will work on your PC...if you get the Video card cheap then you coulkd try it..up to you.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    I just recently replaced an ATI Radeon 7500 128MB AGP video card with a NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS 256MB AGP video card in a 7-1/2 year old Gateway desktop with a 200W power supply, and it's been working fine.

    Since your power supply is 300W, it should handle that ATI Radeon 9200 256MB AGP video card just fine.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. RobertE92

    RobertE92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Flavallee, i am also considering a "GeForce 6200 - 512 MB DDR1 - AGP" card. Would this work on my PC? My PC takes DDR RAM so does it matter that the card is DDR1 and do you think it is a good card?
     
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    A NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS 512 MB AGP video card didn't work for me - probably because of the 200W power supply.

    I'm not a gamer or an expert when it comes to upgrading video cards, so I'll pass to someone else who is.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. Jordster

    Jordster

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Video RAM is different to PC RAM, it's just the graphic card's own memory. Nothing to worry about.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/954861