1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Birdy123, Nov 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Birdy123

    Birdy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    My Compaq Presario CQ60 just became a slow piece of ****. I decided that I would go out buy the new windows 7 and format my hard drive so I could start all over again with 7. So I ran the disc while booting and it installed all nice and well. I got out my fifa and installed it and now it does not work anymore saying that my graphics card is not good enough which it was.I think this is because when I formatted my hard drive I deleted my graphics card or something. My graphics card now says VGA Standard and My graphics card before was ATI Mobility Radeon. I was wondering how I would be able to restore my graphics card back to ATI mobility Radeon. It will still be in the laptop.

    Here are my specs before reinstalling windows

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Business , Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7700 @ 2.40GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2045 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 184188 MB, Free - 58639 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, SANTA ROSA

    Can anybody help me get my graphics card working again

    Thanks
    Birdy
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,931
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the product number(P/N) and/or model number(M/N) on the sticker?

    --------------------------------------------------------

    After you did a clean install of Windows 7, did you upgrade it to SP1 and then download and install the post-SP1 important/recommended updates?

    Windows 7 should be up-to-date and all device drivers should be installed and up-to-date before you start installing a bunch of programs and playing with that computer.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Birdy123

    Birdy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks I will try the ATI Driver. And I am downloading SP1 right now.
    My Laptop version is the CQ60-217TX
    The P/N is NM587PA#ABG

    I'll get back to you if the driver works
     
  5. Birdy123

    Birdy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have to go through a series of updates before I get SP1 so I am doing that. I looked on HP and nothing will update the card. I went on the ATI link you gave me and none of the downloads will work because it will not recognize my graphics card. It only recognizes my VGA Standard when I have a ATI Radeon
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,931
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the support site for the Compaq Presario CQ60-217TX laptop.

    You might want to add and save this site in your browser favorites/bookmarks list so you can readily refer to it when needed.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    According to the driver downloads section for that laptop, it has one of these 2 graphics controllers:

    Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chipset Family

    NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GE

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    Are there any entries in the Device Manager with a ? next to them?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Birdy123

    Birdy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Had a look through the device manager and nothing has a ? mark next to them.

    I will have a look through and try both of the graphic controllers. Will get back to you with results
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,931
    First Name:
    Frank
  9. Birdy123

    Birdy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    will do
    thanks
     
  10. Birdy123

    Birdy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    wow I download the NVIDIA Controller and the Intel Chipset Install Utility. Works a treat have looked in device manager and card is updated. Ran FIFA all good. Thanks so much for your time
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,931
    First Name:
    Frank
    :D :) (y)

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027690

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice