1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Graphics Card????

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by flamingblueyoshi, Apr 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flamingblueyoshi

    flamingblueyoshi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I'm planning on buying a Inspiron 620 with these:

    Processor: Intel Pentium G630 Processor (2.70GHz,3MB L2,1066MHz)
    Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
    Inspiron 620 Minitower
    1 TB SATA II Hard Drive (7200RPM)
    4 GB DDR3 SDRAM 1333MHz (2 DIMMs)
    16X DVD +/- RW Drive

    specs. However, I don't know much about Graphics cards.... Is there one there, or is it all locked into the computer?
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It's probably built in, but you can still add another.

    It comes with one of these, which you choose when buying:

    * IntelĀ® HD Graphics
    * AMD Radeon HD 6450 1GB DDR3
    * NVIDIA GeForce GT 530
     
  3. flamingblueyoshi

    flamingblueyoshi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What?

    Dell sells the Inspiron 620 with one of those 3 graphics. The Intel may be built-in.
     
  5. flamingblueyoshi

    flamingblueyoshi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks! Is that good for gaming? I would like to use shaders for certain games, but they are incompatible with:

    - ATI X1200 or lower
    - Graphic cards without GL_EXT_framebuffer_object support
    - Graphic cards without GL_ARB_shader_objects, GL_ARB_vertex_shader and GL_ARB_fragment_shader support
    - Mobile IntelĀ® 4 Series Express Chipset Family (or lower; will in some cases result in the invisible world bug
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You can look up each of them and then decide which one you want when you buy the machine, if they have a choice. They may only carry one of them, or two. You'd have to check with your retailer. I'm sure that the machines with NVidia or ATI cost more, too.
     
  7. flamingblueyoshi

    flamingblueyoshi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Ok! Thanks!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1051255