1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheShadowKid7, Jul 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheShadowKid7

    TheShadowKid7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Hello, on my desktop I have a GTX graphics Card and I currently just purchased a new HDD. I installed windows 7 on the HDD, but now when I open some games it says I cannot support the video quality it needs to be able to play. So I was really confused at first but then I went it to the control panel and under graphics card saw that only a Standard VGA card was running. So how to get my computer to read that I have a GTX plugged in? Because it doesn't show that I even havd a GTX plugged in... Please help!! Thanks -Marcus
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    Is your computer running Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit?

    What model GeForce GTX graphics card is in your computer?

    Once we confirm the Windows version and the graphics card description, we can advise you how to obtain and install the driver for the graphics card.

    -----------------------------------------------
     
  3. TheShadowKid7

    TheShadowKid7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Okay, I'm running Windows 7 64bit and for my graphics card, I'm not sure. Because I bought it used. How do I find this out if it doesn't show up in my control panel?
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    We cannot direct you to the driver for that graphics card until it's identified.

    If the description isn't on the graphics card, do the following.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Go into the Device Manager, then expand the Display Adapters heading.

    Advise the exact name of the device listed there.

    Double-click that device to open its properties window.

    Click the "Details" tab and then select "Hardware Ids" in the list.

    You will see one or more strings that have VEN_####&DEV_#### as part of it.

    Advise the exact 4-character codes that follow VEN_ and DEV_

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    BEFORE you installed a new hard drive and installed Windows 7 64-bit in your computer, was that graphics card already installed in your computer and had been used to play games?

    If this is the first time that you're using that graphics card to play games in your computer, the power supply may not be able to handle it and the demands of gaming.

    What's the brand name and model number and wattage of the power supply in your computer?

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. TheShadowKid7

    TheShadowKid7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Graphics card currently running: Standard VGA Graphics Adapter
    This was under my Hardware ids:
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0F00&SUBSYS_35441458&REV_A1
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0F00&SUBSYS_35441458
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0F00&CC_030000
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0F00&CC_0300

    The computer used this GTX before so the power supply should be fine.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to those vendor and device codes, your computer's graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX model.

    The Windows 7 64-bit driver (9.18.13.4144) for it is here.

    After you download and save it, close all open windows first, then double-click it to start the install process.

    Note: If you don't need or want all the extras that come with the driver, select the "custom" install option and then install only what you need and want.

    Okay, good. (y)

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. TheShadowKid7

    TheShadowKid7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Thank your so much! It worked perfectly.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    :D :) (y)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1151813

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice