Solved: Grey day for my monitor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gurbleeek

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
37
I have just bought a used computer and everything is working fine except that white appears very dirty and grey on screen.
I have tried adjusting the settings on the monitor but can't seem to rid it of the greyness.
The monitor works fine if I plug it into my old system.
I know it's not a major problem its just that I would like white to be white.
My system is running XP-pro. is there anything in the o/s that i can adjust to fix my problem?
Any help would be gratefully recieved.
:confused: :confused:
 

gurbleeek

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
37
Its a big bulky ugly thing.
Looks a bit like an old, cream coloured, portable tv.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
Sorry about my huge delay in replying, not had a minute of spare time at all.

On the used (new) computer, is there anything relating to graphics options or graphics utility in the start menu or system tray?
 

gurbleeek

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
37
No worrries about the delay. i
I've been run off my feet as well.
Got your reply last night but only had time to read it before the computer got overtaken by girlfriend wanting to use facebook.
I have had a look at the system tray and start menu and Intel(R) Extreme Graphics is running in the system tray. There is nothing in the start menu relating to graphics.
Hope this info will help you help me.
Cheers!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
Right click the graphics intel thing and look for adjustment. It could be a brightness/contrast problem with the software.
 

gurbleeek

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
37
That seems to have done the trick.:) :)
Its a bit fiddly, cos no matter how much i played with the contrast/brightness it still wouldn't get rid of the grey. But there is an option to tune each of the colours (R,G,B) seperately for gamma, brightness and contrast. After many attempts, and many very interesting colour schemes I seem to have got it something like. I am sure that with a bit more fine tuning I shall have it spot on.
Many thanks for your help.
Gurble Eek!(y)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
No probs, glad to know you got it working.
If you look around there may be a default option or some saved schemes that will save you time.
Thanks for marking thread as solved also.
- Jack
 

gurbleeek

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
37
There is a saved scheme in there.
I plan to use it when I get it just right.
Thanks again 4 the advice.
Gurble Eek (Trev)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top