1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: GTA San Andreas ntdll.dll error

Discussion in 'Games' started by Alias50, Oct 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alias50

    Alias50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Hey guys, i got san andreas a few days ago and whenever I try to launch the exe crashes and when i click more info in the dialouge box it says the ModName was ntdll.dll. Iv'e tried searching everywhere and even tried using a few no cd cracks but still the same problem. Maybe you guys can help me??

    PS: All my drivers and stuff are up to date
     
  2. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,913
    You using any mods or "trainers"?

    It may just be corrupt. You can get it here I think.
    http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?ntdll
    Just be sure you put it in the right location. :)

    Other then basic info I don't really see much for fixing it. One guy reformatted. That's allot to do though. Maybe you can replace it.
    Seeing most .dll issues with downloded games and "cracked" .exe's.
    But not all, one claims his messed up with a purchased and unmodded game.
    Keep trying with the original .exe. Once it's working, then do the mods and things.
     
  3. Alias50

    Alias50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Not using any mods, using a cracked exe though, but i tried original and still the same problem. Guess i'm going to try to replace the ntdll.dll file.

    One question though,

    I tried deleting the file before and it says it is "in use." Replacing didn't work either because of the same reason. Do i have to boot into another OS, say linux or NTFS dos to replace the file?? Or will safe mode do the trick?? If i have to boot into another OS i'm gonna need some help.

    Thanks
     
  4. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    Is this a retail version of the game?
     
  5. Alias50

    Alias50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    52
  6. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,913
    You can try safe mode.

    Other then that, I don't know.
    Maybe someone else will. :D
     
  7. Alias50

    Alias50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Okay i'm laughing now

    First time around i installed GTA SA into a custom folder. I tried installing it under original (Rockstar) and when i launched it worked!! Thx for the help anyway!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/760793