1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Hard disc error occurred

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bigbear, Jul 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Hi
    I have just installed a new hard drive ( Seagate 120g IDE) with a clean install of XP.
    When the system reboots before installing windows I get the above message.
    Things I have tried
    The drive is recognized correctly in bios and I have reset the cmos
    Tried a new ribbon.
    There is no floppy in the drive
    It did the same with the original 80G drive.
    I am really at a loss where to go from here, not something I have come up against before.
    Any help greatly appreciated(y)
     
  2. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    I have just discovered that if hook up the drive to the second ide controller the system boots ok.
    I assume this would mean the onboard controller is faulty?
     
  3. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    That, or disabled in the BIOS.
     
  4. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Thanks Frank
    Could not find any option to enable IDE in bios.
    Is it possible to boot from a pci IDE controller?
     
  5. kev1952

    kev1952

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Your IDE controllers will be in the BIOS setup - check under "advanced settings". I've never yet seen a BIOS that doesn't have those settings available. That said, seeing as you said the drive was detected in BIOS then the controller(s) must be turned on. Is the drive the only device on the primary IDE cable? Are you using 40 or 80 core cable? How have you set the jumpers on the drive?

    And, yes, you should be able to boot from a PCI card controller.
     
  6. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Yes only one drive on an 80 pin ribbon
    I have tried master and cable select jumpers
    As I mentioned before if the drive is hooked up to the secondary controller it works.
    What would suddenly make just one controller go bad?
     
  7. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    You could hook up your CD drive to the controller and see if it will read the Windows install CD. If you get an error then you would have proven a bad controller as long as the controller is enabled in BIOS.
     
  8. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Tried swapping around the drives and still wont reboot
    I get an error message now <windows root> \system32\ntoskrnl.exe is missing
    I know this file is the windows boot kernal but why would it be missing?
    I am starting to think that maybe its not the controller now
    I am really at a loss with one I have never seen a pc behave in this way before
     
  9. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Did the contoller recognize a CD drive when you had that attached?
     
  10. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Yes
    I think the problem might be in the boot.ini file because of the error message?
     
  11. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000646.htm

    Yes that is one of the problems that can give the message. Sounds like the problem is now different from the original one. Can a bad controller recognize a CD drive and at the same time not find a HD drive. I have no idea.
     
  12. kev1952

    kev1952

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Have a look here for Microsoft's answer to the problem.
     
  13. bigbear

    bigbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    I found out what was causing the drive not to boot
    The boot drive had a virus (hence the clean install) which affected the windows directory.
    The slave drive I had removed the power plug but not the ribbon.
    It was suggested to me to remove the ribbon from the slave and now the boot drive boots.
    So now I am installing windows etc and then need to sort out the other infected drive.
    Thanks for all input, I will mark the thread solved
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/595995

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice