Solved: Hard disc error occurred

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
Hi
I have just installed a new hard drive ( Seagate 120g IDE) with a clean install of XP.
When the system reboots before installing windows I get the above message.
Things I have tried
The drive is recognized correctly in bios and I have reset the cmos
Tried a new ribbon.
There is no floppy in the drive
It did the same with the original 80G drive.
I am really at a loss where to go from here, not something I have come up against before.
Any help greatly appreciated(y)
 

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
I have just discovered that if hook up the drive to the second ide controller the system boots ok.
I assume this would mean the onboard controller is faulty?
 

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
Thanks Frank
Could not find any option to enable IDE in bios.
Is it possible to boot from a pci IDE controller?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
351
Your IDE controllers will be in the BIOS setup - check under "advanced settings". I've never yet seen a BIOS that doesn't have those settings available. That said, seeing as you said the drive was detected in BIOS then the controller(s) must be turned on. Is the drive the only device on the primary IDE cable? Are you using 40 or 80 core cable? How have you set the jumpers on the drive?

And, yes, you should be able to boot from a PCI card controller.
 

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
Yes only one drive on an 80 pin ribbon
I have tried master and cable select jumpers
As I mentioned before if the drive is hooked up to the secondary controller it works.
What would suddenly make just one controller go bad?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
You could hook up your CD drive to the controller and see if it will read the Windows install CD. If you get an error then you would have proven a bad controller as long as the controller is enabled in BIOS.
 

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
Tried swapping around the drives and still wont reboot
I get an error message now <windows root> \system32\ntoskrnl.exe is missing
I know this file is the windows boot kernal but why would it be missing?
I am starting to think that maybe its not the controller now
I am really at a loss with one I have never seen a pc behave in this way before
 

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
norton850 said:
Did the contoller recognize a CD drive when you had that attached?
Yes
I think the problem might be in the boot.ini file because of the error message?
 

bigbear

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
I found out what was causing the drive not to boot
The boot drive had a virus (hence the clean install) which affected the windows directory.
The slave drive I had removed the power plug but not the ribbon.
It was suggested to me to remove the ribbon from the slave and now the boot drive boots.
So now I am installing windows etc and then need to sort out the other infected drive.
Thanks for all input, I will mark the thread solved
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top