1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: hard disk replcemnt reloading vista mc from recovery disk

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by RexAnneC, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RexAnneC

    RexAnneC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hello everbody, a reluctant famliy computer fixer here,
    so here's the story-
    we have a Gateway GM 5474 desktop computer that had the hard drive fail,
    here are the computer specs that I started out with:



    ProcessorAMD Athlon™64 X2 6000+, 64-bit dual core processor
    • Operates at 3.0 GHz
    • 2 x 1024 KB L2 cache
    • 2000 MHz system bus
    Chipset: NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE
    MemoryInstalled: 2048 MB DDR2, 667 MHz, (PC2-5300) dual channel memory (two 1024 MB DIMMs)

    Expandable to: 4 GB (4 DDR2 DIMM slots)

    Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue500 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA II hard drive




    Optical Drive: DVD ±RW, 16X super multi-format dual layer drive
    • Write max: 16X DVD±R, 6X DVD-RW, 6X DVD-R DL, 8X DVD+RW, 8X DVD+R DL, 12X DVD-RAM, 48X CD-R, 32X CD-RW
    • Read max: 12X DVD-ROM, 12X DVD-RAM, 48X CD-ROM
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce™ 8500GT 256 MB
    • DirectX® 10 and Blu-ray™ / HD DVD™ capable
    • One DVI-I port with HDCP
    • One HDMI port
    • One S-Video port (includes DVI-VGA Dongle)
    AudioIntegrated 8-Channel (7.1) High Definition AudioNetwork SupportIntegrated MARVELL 88E8056 10/100 Ethernet

    Modem56 K ITU V.92 ready fax/modem

    Power Supply400 watt



    VideoNVIDIA GeForce™ 8500GT 256 MB
    • Read max: 12X DVD-ROM, 12X DVD-RAM, 48X CD-ROM
    http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/1009568/1009568sp2.shtml

    I took that hard drive out and replaced it with a



    Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB Internal Serial ATA Hard Drive for Desktops
    • 1TB maximum storage capacity
    • Serial ATA interface
    • Data transfer rates up to 3 Gbps
    • 7200 rpm for fast read/write times
    • 32MB cache buffer
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Western...Drive+for+Desktops/8909595.p?id=1213047091732

    TSG SysInfo

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+, x64 Family 15 Model 67 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2045 Mb
    Graphics Card: Standard VGA Graphics Adapter, 2 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953866 MB, Free - 940916 MB;
    Motherboard: ELITEGROUP, MCP61PM-AM
    Antivirus: None

    Here's the problem:

    I got the new hard drive in and used the gateway recovery disk. That loaded windows vista media center. I tried to view a video that came in pre loaded in MC and this is the messege I got:

    Video Errror
    files needed to display video are not installed or not working correctly. Please restart WMC or restart computer

    then this

    WMC
    Tv and video may not work as expected because the video card does not meet the minimum memory requirement of 64 MB of video Ram if you Consistantly encounter errors with TV or Video, Please update the video driver or install a new video card

    I did close everything down and reboot but no fix. So, I can plug things in and follow directions but I am at my limit here. Everything was working except the harddrive before the crash, so I don't think I need a new video card. I do not have this computer on line because I've got no antivirus on it yet. Sorry this is such a long post, I am hoping this is enough info, I thank you all in advance. What to do next?

    RexAnneC
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    The TSG SysInfo is showing a standard graphics adapter, not the Nvidia card.

    Check in Device Manager that the Nvidia card is listed under Display Adapters and that you have installed the correct driver.
     
  3. RexAnneC

    RexAnneC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    yahoo!!(y):D(y) went and got a driver from nvidia and now IT WORKS!!! Now to try a DVD in it and see if that works. DVDs can play, so that's good. The next task is to get the comcast DTA connected and get media center showing tv and recording shows.

    should I partition the harddrive?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Why?

    There's some advantage to keeping your storage on a separate partition, but it can also slow things down moving large files from one to the other. It's easier to make backups with just one.

    Make complete system backups so you can come back after the drive fails.

    Free drive backup software (imaging, cloning, and archiving - backups can be created on a second hard drive, internal or external, or on DVD's, or BluRay disks. One BluRay disk will hold most peoples' entire system drive's backup at 25 GB's using compressed images, 50 GB's double-layer):

    Paragon Backup & Recovery (Recovery boot CD or USB key)
    Macrium Reflect (Free)
    O&O Disk Image Express or (mirror)
    Easeus Todo Backup
    Redo Backup & Recovery (Boot CD)
    Clonezilla Live (A bootable CD of Debian with Clonezilla.)
    Drive Image XML
    PING (Partimage is not Ghost) (Boot CD with option Clam Antivirus)
    Partition Saving
    Clonezilla
    Passmark OSFClone (Bootable, cloning only)

    There are also many commercial products with more features.

    ============================================

    Check Device Manager to see what other drivers you may need.
     
  5. RexAnneC

    RexAnneC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    thanks Elvidil and Mark 1956 I got the drivers in and everything is working
     
  6. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Your welcome.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030178

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice