1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Hard Drive causing BSOD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BreakingPoint, Sep 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BreakingPoint

    BreakingPoint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hello

    my seccond Hard Drive (HDD) is causing a BSOD, whenever I take it away, my computer runs normal on the other HDD (the one with the OS installed)

    STOP: 0x0000008E (0xc0000005, 0xBA7233D3, 0xBA5D03E4, 0x000000)
    symsnap.sys - Address BA7233D3 base at BA70D000, Datestamp 486286a7

    Related to symsnap.sys, I guess it has to do with Norton Ghost, which is the only Symantec program I have. This program is installed on the faulty HDD.

    I can't access it through Safe Mode, it gives a BSOD again. System recovery point don't go as far as before the problem...
    I tried Ubuntu on a DVD but can't access the HDD either.
    Last thing I remember the HDD was almost completely full, 1 GB of free space left I think... The only thing I couldn't try is connecting the HDD on another computer.

    I think if I could just find a way to access the HDD, and delete the program, I could solve this...

    Some information on my PC:
    win XP Home SP2
    the hard drive is a Western Digital 320 Gb, IDE type.
    This configuration has always worked until recently...
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,648
    Try testing the HDD using the drive manufacturers disk tools. Run the short and long test.
     
  3. BreakingPoint

    BreakingPoint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,648
    Windows or DOS version? The references that I find to that error, seem to all point to the DOS version of the software. Which seems to indicate the DOS software has issues on some hardware.
     
  5. BreakingPoint

    BreakingPoint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    DOS, because I can't do anything in windows with the Hard Drive connected (BSOD), so I installed the DOS version to a CD, so I could boot from CD, but it gave me that error.

    That other version is a .exe, so I can't do anything with it, unless you know something...?

    Thanks for your help, I appreciate it very much!
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I would try it on another PC and see if it does the same......how old is the drive?

    Also try a different data cable if you haven't already
     
  7. BreakingPoint

    BreakingPoint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    The drive must be at least 5 years old, it's an IDE drive, so i dont know a lot of people i can test it with... But i will try and keep you guys noticed!
     
  8. BreakingPoint

    BreakingPoint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Does anyone know if a full reinstall of windows would solve the harddrive problem? i'm sick of trying to find a solution to save my files on the drive...
     
  9. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,648
    Without knowing if the drive is faulty, you could just be wasting your time. Feel free to give it a try, but if the drive is simply faulty, installing the OS again won't resolve anything.
     
  10. BreakingPoint

    BreakingPoint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    tried to reinstall the OS, it formatted the harddrives, then it told me there were no hard drives installed so I couldn't install the OS. I guess there was some faulty motherboard controller?

    So I gave up and looking to buy new system now.

    Thank you guys for helping me anyway.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1016060