1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Hard drive question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ronnie151, Oct 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    I have 2 hard drives installed on my system the master has win xp home edetion and the slave has win 98se. When i boot up it showes both drives,then loads windows xp. under my compurer it shows the drive with win 98 on it. my question is how to i get the two to work sepertately so i can load win 98? Thank you
    Winxp -ntfs win 98 fat 32
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Check to see if the option is available to show the bootloader menu.

    Go to start, control panel, system, advanced, startup and recovery, in the drop down menu does it give you the option of enabling the second os in the bootloader.
     
  3. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    I installed 98 on a system after xp was installed and the following process allowed me to boot to either via the xp boot loader.

    If you can get your system to boot into the repair console with the xp cdrom enter the repair console by clicking R at the prompt. Then type in the following commands and reboot when complete.
    type FIXBOOT and answer yes after

    type in the following commands and after each click enter and be sure to leave all spaces exactly as they are..

    CD \
    ATTRIB -H NTLDR
    ATTRIB -S NTLDR
    ATTRIB -R NTLDR
    ATTRIB -H NTDETECT.COM
    ATTRIB -S NTDETECT.COM
    ATTRIB -R NTDETECT.COM
    COPY X:\I386\NTLDR C:\ (X IS THE LETTER OF YOUR CDROM)
    COPY X:\I386\NTDETECT.COM C:\ (X IS THE LETTER OF YOUR CDROM)

    Then reboot wthout the disk
     
  4. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    not that i see
     
  5. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    but did you have 2 different drives
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Xp on c and 98 on d
     
  7. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    when i get to the recovery part it ask me a question, which windows installation would you like to log into? where do i go from there?
     
  8. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Using the number keys press the corresponding number for xp and enter. Then you'll be prompted to enter the admin password.
     
  9. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    what if i never set a password, have had trouble in this part before on acc. of that
     
  10. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    just click enter if you don't have a password.
     
  11. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    i give up i cant make it work, i dont want to spend all day messing with this, ill just change out the drive when i want to use the others operating system. its over my head. Thank you for the help.
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Here is a link to download a free boot manager if you want to try it out.
    Boot manager
     
  13. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    tried it but it wouldnt work with xp- ntfs files. anyway xp boots it finds new devices and loads drivers for them over and over again and again. This is strange.
     
  14. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    i guess xp just doesnt like the other drive. as soon as i take it out it stops doing it.
     
  15. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    I added another hard drive with fat 32 and nothing on it to the windows 98 harddrive, put it as slave all is working well.
    C: dive 30 gig
    D: drive 15 gig
    now i have some extra room. Thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171550

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice