Solved: Hard Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lily4312

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
101
Hi,
I am having a major problem with my hard drive and need some help.

I am trying to reformat my HD, but when I reboot my sys. with starter disk, I cannot access the cd rom nor the dvd rom from the a promt. And when I try to boot up with my xp windows, this box comes up that says Set up password and it has a key next to it, and I cannot do anything. Cannot get to bios to find out if the boot is in the right order. I am pretty frustrated right now, I have been at this for two days.

I even used madboot to try and format, and cannot do that either.

I Have a Compaq Presario, 40 gig hard drive,900Mhz AMD Athlon Processor,
128 MB Memory, I run DSL.

Please some one help me.
Thank you
lily4312
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi Lily, what is a starter disk? Doesn't sound like an operating system cd. And I CAN NOT IMAGINE that with the specs you posted, that system will EVEN run XP :eek:
 

lily4312

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
101
Hi ACACANDY,

The starter disk, one that I made when I formated my 3-1/2 diskette.

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp.080413-2111)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Compaq
System Model: Compaq PC
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Processor, MMX, 3DNow, ~900MHz
Memory: 256MB RAM
Page File: 349MB used, 296MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: None
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

Thanks for replying .

lily4312
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
8,450
It sounds as though your disk doesn't have the CD ROM drivers.
Why not just use the XP disk?
I've heard of XP being run with those specs, but it would be gruesomely slow. I'd consider Ubuntu if I were you.
You can find a proper boot disk at :
www.bootdisk.com
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Well, it has 256 ram instead of the 128 you mentioned above. But, as mentioned by Hughv, the system must be painfully slow.

And I agree -- just use the XP cd.
 

lily4312

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
101
Thank you HUGHV,

I will go check out bootdisk.com. As for re-formatting with my xp disk, I can't because it keeps saying I need to have the Administrator's permission, and I am the ADM. I have also tried to do system restore to an earlier date and it tells me they couldn't do it and nothing has been changed.

Thank you for replying to my thread

lily4312
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You are putting the XP disk in the drive, then restarting the computer right? You aren't trying to run it from within Windows?
 

lily4312

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
101
Hi ACACANDY,

Yes I reboot with xp in the cd rom, when it comes time for me to make a choice of reinstalling xp, or do a recovery, I click on recovery and it tells me I need to get permission from the administrator, I am the administrator, I am the only one using the computer. Also downloaded bootdisc from bootdisc.com and I rebooted with the disc in drive a: What I keep getting for a message when I try to access drive c: is" Invalid drive specification" I cannot even access drive c: which is the one I want to format. But when I go to command prompt from window, I can get to drive C: I just can't do anything from there, because window is still opened. I have worked on computers before and have re-formatted more than once, but this one has me stumped.

Thank you for trying to help me out I really appreciate it

lily4312
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You shouldn't be using any boot disks at all with XP. Either you boot directly from the XP CD, or you have special keypresses to start the recovery process. Boot disks haven't been needed since Windows ME.
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
Yes I reboot with xp in the cd rom, when it comes time for me to make a choice of reinstalling xp, or do a recovery, I click on recovery
What am I missing? Have you tried going to reinstall (instead of recover) and it didn't work or is there some other reason for not taking that path? Is it not allowing the formatting to proceed in the course of reinstalling as well?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
And "Recovery" is not an option offered by the XP CD when booted, so I have no idea where that is coming from. Is this an OEM CD that came with the machine?
 

lily4312

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
101
Elvandil

The reason I booted from the disc is because I could not re-format my hard drive with xp, I needed the administrators permission To do a recovery from XP.

I want to re-format the drive, not re-install the xp. This is not my first time doing this, but right now I cannot access C: drive from the dos.

Fairnook

I tried everything, and I cannot access c: drive it tells me invalid drive specification, it's like my c: drive does not exist. If I could access C:drive from A:, I believe my problem would be fixed.

Thank you both for replying.

lily4312
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
If you reformat it, what are you going to install on it??? :confused:

The XP cd will format and install XP.
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
Are you familiar with GParted at all (http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=115843&package_id=173828)? Its an image file you can download and burn to CD (with any image making software) and then boot to that CD and you should be able to get to a graphical representation of you hard drive and perform many actions including formatting to NTFS. It usually works great because its not possible for any interrupts or denials of access by the system to get in your way.
 

lily4312

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
101
Hello ACACANDY, FAIRNOOK and ELVANDIL,

Sorry didn;t reply sooner, but I did finally format my hard drive and reinstalled win.xp
I am now installing my most needed programs right now.

I wanr to thank you very much for your help and everyone else that was so good to help me out.

I always know where to go when I am in trouble with my computer, that is why I don't mind donating once a year. You are all worth it,

I found out that I had used a password when I installed XP almost a year ago, that is why I had so much trouble, When I finally remembered my the password I used, then everything was fine.

But every time I ask for help. I always learn something new. Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

lily4312
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top