Solved: Hardware driver issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

frisko

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
10
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 3 Stepping 4
Processor Count: 1
RAM: 1021 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller, 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 156319 MB, Free - 79515 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Computer Corp., 0N6381
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled


Alright her goes another question for you all.
I have this wonderful program called perfect photo suite 6 which i would love to use on this computer now. It says that my video card doesn't support open GL 2.0. I have googled this and found that my hardware will support open GL 2.0 but the issue is i don't know how to update my hardware to allow this program to work. I went onto dells website and thought i downloaded the updates but how do i know that i did and how do i know which video card is running at present time? Do you understand what i am trying to say i can give information if needed. TIA
Paulina
 

frisko

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
10
Alright then. I guess that means i either have to buy a video card software or a piece of hardware to upgrade to this. Any recommendations on this??
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
What is the exact model number of your Dell system, example: Dell Dimension 3000.
 

frisko

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
10
Wow you hit the hammer on the nail. I have a dell dimension 3000.
 

frisko

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
10
how about a software install video card? That i can install myself without spending the money for someone else to install for me.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You will need to buy an actual card, open the computer, and put it in. Word on the street is that it may be better if you don't do it yourself, but get someone who knows how to do it.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You can't upgrade hardware features with software.
 

frisko

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
10
got cha. This program works on my laptop so i will just use it there thanks all for your helpful information.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top