1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Hardware is not recognized after reformat

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by snowieken, Apr 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. snowieken

    snowieken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Hey all,

    Don't have much time at the moment to elaborate my question, so just a quickie for now. Maybe someone can already offer some ideas.

    I just reformatted my desktop hard drive and reinstalled Vista to do a major clean up. Everything is installed correctly, but now my video and network card are not recognized anymore. It just uses the standard integrated card.

    As you can tell by my question, I'm not exactly savvy when it comes to hardware, and if any specs are needed to be able to find an answer I can post them later. I realize this is pretty vague, but as said, don't have time to elaborate right now and maybe there are already some ideas?
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,675
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Did you reinstall Vista using an OEM disc for your particular computer or some other kind of Vista installation disc?

    In the second case, you may need to download and install hardware specific drivers from the motherboard or computer manufacturer's web site or other source.
     
  3. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Use the driver disc that came with the system.
     
  4. snowieken

    snowieken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    This might already be a workable solution. I didn't have a Vista install disk so I borrowed one from a friend, using my own product key. So I'll download hardware specific drivers and see if that works out. Thanks for now, I'll get back to you. :)
     
  5. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    If it's a branded computer, just go to their website for drivers.
     
  6. snowieken

    snowieken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    I've manually installed the latest drivers for my graphics and network card, and so far so good. Everything works now! Thanks, should have known it was this simple... :)
     
  7. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,675
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You're welcome.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919416

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice