1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Have a big trouble to set up my home page on Firefox

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Laura7491, Jan 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Hi all, I had never had any troubles to set up a home page on my PC, but I have a major trouble to do it on my daughter's computer. She uses the SAME Window 7 Home Premium computer as I do, but it doesn't work on hers.

    I am trying to set up "MyYahoo.com" as her home page. I've set up all the apps (calendar, news, weather etc.) and in Options I set it to her home page. What happens is when I close FF it defaults to Firefox Welcome page. (n)Thats it. I tried it several times already, incl. using another home page to set up, but it makes no difference.:(

    Obviously I am NOT new to setting up a home page. But why do I have a problem on her PC? What is that with her PC that doesn't let me do a simple thing?

    I really need help, guys. It has NEVER happened before - not being able to set up a home page My home page on my own PC has no problems. I have never been able to do it on her PC ... So frustrating. :(
    Any clues/suggestions? Any help is greatly appreciated. I do not understand what's happening and if I am doing something wrong. :confused:
    P.S. Also, the Classic Theme Restorer add-on doesn't seem to work at all on her PC. But I am not concerned about it right now.
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you show me a screenshot of that Firefox home page, please?
     
  3. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Well, it's just Firefox's Welcome page. Since it's a part of FF it can not be uninstalled by itself.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    That's possible about the profile. .

    What I found on the Net is I have to find and delete the files with pref##.js. I just looked at my daughters computer and all I found was a file folder "pref" (within default) and when I clicked on "pref" folder I got "channel-pref" That's all. No JS's files, none.

    I'll check your link how to create a new profile. Will let you know.
    Thanks a bunch!!
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,238
    There should only be one prefs.js file and you will find it in the profile folder, generally at the following location (with the first set of Xs being the actual username and the second one the numbers/letters in the profile name):

    C:\Users\xxxxx\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxx.default
     
  7. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Hi, Cookiegal... been there... Default folder ... found only "pref" and "channel-pref". That's all. No "js" files at all. :(
     
  8. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,238
    That defaults folder would be in a different location. Did you follow the path I gave?

    Also, is there a specific reason that you need to post in all bold letters?
     
  9. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    No , I admit, I did not go to AppData/Roaming.

    I will look up again tomorrow. I suppose I must delete all the pref files ending with "js"?
    Sorry about bold letters . I didn't know it 'd bother you.
     
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,238
    There will only be one file and it's called prefs.js.

    But before doing anything can you post a link to the instructions that you're following please?

    BTW, using bold tags is meant to highlight something specific within the text but not all of the text should be in bold letters. That is excessive and unnecessary formatting. :)
     
  11. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    It's actually from Mozilla Support site that I found on the Net. The way I understood they are talking about a few possible pref files ending with "js" https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/983389
    Scroll down to approx. middle of the thread and you'll see.
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  13. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Thanks Phantom010. :)
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,238
    Those numbered prefs-*.js files are only created if the prefs.js file is locked by third party software or has read-only attributes so it can't be written to.

    The first thing would be to report back if you have any of those files in the profile folder or just the one prefs.js file.
     
  15. Laura7491

    Laura7491 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Cookiegal, I went to my DD's computer, the directory you suggested (appdata.. roaming..profile) and I found all the pref##.js files which were 1083 of them!! I deleted all of them. Now it works great!
    I did "myyahoo" home page with her yahoo mail, calendar, news,etc.

    Thanks a bunch to you and Phantom for your help. I much appreciate it.

    Now... I wanna do the same home page for her Explorer. Right now I failed to set her home page to "myyahoo.com".
    Should I post a message for IE section on Forum, or you can give me a hint how to find her profile for IE? I suppose it could be the same directory (appdata.. roaming...profile) but instead of FF it will be Explorer?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved trouble home
  1. phyljack1
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    424
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141977

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice