1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Having Dual monitor behavior in a Single monitor?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by KeyStroke, Nov 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Hi,

    I'm currently using two 4:3 monitors of my PC, and I'd like to substitute them with one big wide screen monitor. The only thing I'm worry about is that I won't be able to have different "spaces" for my windows that they could expand to (so I could have, for example, my e-mail on the right part, and my browser on the left).

    All I've found so far are virtual desktop software, but that's not what I need. I'm looking for something that splits the visible desktop into multiple parts.

    Any ideas? I'm using Vista by the way


    Appreciate your help :)
     
  2. 1002richards

    1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,333
    Hi,
    I think SplitView might be of interest to you. It splits the visible desktop in to two parts.
    I've used it for a while now (on XP). You can - if you want - have IE open on one side and Opera on the other. Or more likely a doc on one side and Internet on the other.
    You can easily switch between the two & swap right and left.
    http://www.splitview.com/learnmore

    Richard
     
  3. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,457
    If 2 screens are important you are, TBH, probably better sticking with them. A single screen wont ever give you the same coverage. I use 2 at work and 3 at home, primarily because I need to see 2 things at the same time ( at work, its drawings and take offs). :)
     
  4. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Thanks 1002richards and Gulo Leseus for your helpful responses :)
     
  5. 1002richards

    1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,333
    You're welcome.

    R.
     
  6. N5RDC

    N5RDC

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    You can do this without any third party software. Just open the first window and resize it so that it fills about half the screen & move it to one side or the other.
    Open the second window & do the same.
    Actually, you can open & resize as many windows as you want, but you have to know that the more windows you have on the screen, the smaller they will have to be, but this is as good as it gets on a single monitor, even with third party software.

    For those who may not know:
    To resize a window, First, click "Restore Down" (center button at top right)
    Then move your cursor to any edge or corner of the window untill it changes to a Double Arrow, then left-click and drag inward or outward to change the size.
    To move the entire window, click in the colored area at the top, and while holding down the mouse button, drag it where you want it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/766474

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice