Solved: HD failing?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
I believe my Hard drive may be failing.
Computer is running Windows Vista
Drive is 500 GB ST3500620A SATA
2GB memory

System is chronically failing to recognize the hard drive resulting in message:
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER.
Award Bios setup indicates that hard drive is absent. (CDROMs and Floppy show present)

After several attempts by powering down and rebooting, I have been able to get the drive recognized and the system boots normally, the operating system loads and the system runs normally, usually for several hours, but eventually shuts down and reboots to the message shown above.:eek:

My question: Is my hard drive failing or could the problem be elsewhere? And, if the hard drive is the problem, can I buy a new one and (hopefully) clone the old one during a successful boot?

Needless to say, although my data on the drive has been backed up, reconstructing the drive on a new one would be a major headache since you no longer get the OS on a CD but rather on a D: partition on the original drive. Plus I would need to reload all of my apps. Days of work... and probably an Activation hassle as well. :(Whew!

Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.
 

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
Thanks for the suggestion. (y) I will try that solution. Hope it works.
 

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
Thank you for your help. I have changed the power connection to the drive. the system rebooted without problems and has been running for about 18 hours, I will keep this thread open for a few days before I am confident enough to mark it solved,

I should also consider making an image of the drive. I would be interested in hearing from anyone who had a drive crash and did a complete restoration using a drive image,
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
172
Make sure you backup, and possibly even have a RAID 1 setup. Having just one hard drive is like having one parachute. You're guaranteed it will fail; this is why it is SO EASY to get a replacement drive from Western Digital (or any manufacture) - because they fail regularly. I've replaced four drives so far, all free of charge.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Restoring images to a failed hard drive would do no good. Restoring the image to the replacement HDD is painless and a lot quicker than starting everyting from scratch. If the data is corrupt before you make the image, then the image is going to restore the corrupt data. I make images of all my drives at least once a week, then if I get hit with a virus or try a program that messes up my system I just restore the most recent CLEAN Image. I use Acronis Tru Image 2010 Home.
 

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
System has continued to be problem free for several days now since I changed the power connection to the drive.

The power cable I replace was a power adapter -- standard four lead drive power connector to SATA power connector (HP P/N 5188-3214 FOXCONN 0819). Have these things been problematic?:confused:

In any case, I am marking this solved.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top