1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Headset microphone problem, help please!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by JustinHD, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Hello

    I've recently came across some issues with my headset's microphone.
    I'm using Windows 7 x64 Ultimate and Realtek HD Audio Manager.

    The problems are the following:

    - microphone recording volume is very low
    - the max volume (in Realtek Manager) that I can set is about 60%, any higher and I sound like a robot, another problem here is that it doesn't stay that way
    - it worked fine till a few days ago
    - came across this issue before but it kinda went away on itself, sometimes the mic boost would activate and that would screw up my voice
    - tried both the front panel jacks and the back panel ones, same problem

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Frenzy666

    Frenzy666

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Have you tried another headset?
     
  3. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    No, this headset is fine.
    The problem fixed itself somehow, the volume now stays at 60% and its working fine.
     
  4. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    aaaand its back again. volume is at 60% but the voice is distorted....
     
  5. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    Try the headset on another system....
     
  6. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I did....the headset works fine.
     
  7. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.

    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  8. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 12286 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 122001 MB, Free - 44877 MB; D: Total - 476936 MB, Free - 346147 MB; E: Total - 1430796 MB, Free - 820832 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., X58A-UD3R
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  9. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
  10. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Sorry to ask, but what does file integrity have to do with my microphone problem?
     
  11. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    All of our components need drivers and such to run properly. Needless to say your computer is not running that program properly due to some malfunction. By running the tests I suggested we could possibly fix this quickly by having them repaired. The HD test also is a test that should be run periodically to make sure that all sectors are working properly and not going bad which in turn could cause problems with certain hardware/software on our computers. So, by doing these tests we eliminate a couple of options that could be the problem.
     
  12. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Alright, will do the tests and come back with updates.
     
  13. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
  14. JustinHD

    JustinHD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Scanned with SFC, found some errors, it said it fixed them.
    It dumped a log file along with 4 cabinets, I checked the date and only 2 of them were from this year, other 2 were from last year....a few months old.

    I uploaded the CBS.txt and the 2 cabinets from this year.

    Also, my main system drive is a SSD, and its recommended not to run a chkdsk on those.

    Download Log Files
     
  15. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    I have asked one of our trusted Tech's/Advisers to take a look at this. I am not familiar with the workings of an SSD Drive.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1121456

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice