1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help! Connected to the Internet But Browser/Mail Don't Work

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by jen45, Jul 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jen45

    jen45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I have a Dell desktop I bought for my kids to use back in 2006. I had hooked it up to the wireless network I set up with my Apple Time Capsule. Something happened--I don't know what--about a year ago that made the internet stop working on the Dell. It says it is hooked up to the network and that there is an internet connection, but the mail program and browsers won't work. They open and say there is a problem. I have tried to troubleshoot on my own but have had no success. Any suggestions? I am stumped.

    Thank you for any help you can provide.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    it could be a firewall blocking

    what firewall / security suite is on the PC or has been trial version of norton, mcafee

    lets see if it still connected OK
    would you do the following


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. jen45

    jen45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi Terrynet,

    Thanks so much for your reply.

    I left the PC on last night and it was able to update various windows security (windows defender programs) overnight so that makes me think the computer can access the internet.

    I followed your directions, and here is what I got:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\jt>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jt-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless-N USB Network Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-E5-27-3C-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::393b:3f8f:c2d5:6dc6%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.15(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 5:53:44 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 5:53:44 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666149
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0C-BD-1A-3E-00-1D-72-B4-52-1C

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet #
    2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-B4-52-1C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7CFD1B9C-FC0D-4F4C-B0FC-03403078F
    257}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3460:608:f5ff:fef0(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3460:608:f5ff:fef0%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\jt>
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    Agreed.

    So, likely a firewall or security suite is blocking your browser(s), as etaf suggested, or DNS is not working.

    Please answer his question about firewall and try the ping google.com.
     
  6. jen45

    jen45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi etaf,

    Thanks so much for your help. I think I confirmed there is some internet connection, because the computer somehow updated Windows Defender overnight. I had installed Norton Security Suite about 2 years ago, which was free from COMCAST. I believe the browsers and mail stopped functioning after that. I have uninstalled Norton, but am not sure if it is really completely uninstalled.

    I just tried the three pings. Below are my results. What do you think?

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\jt>ipconfig /all>network.txt & network.txt

    C:\Users\jt>cmd
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\jt>Ping 10.0.1.15

    Pinging 10.0.1.15 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 10.0.1.15:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\jt>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\jt>ipconfig /all>network.txt & network.txt

    C:\Users\jt>cmd
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\jt>Ping 10.0.1.15

    Pinging 10.0.1.15 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 10.0.1.15: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 10.0.1.15:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms


    C:\Users\jt>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [173.194.43.3] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.43.3: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=54
    Reply from 173.194.43.3: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=54
    Reply from 173.194.43.3: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54
    Reply from 173.194.43.3: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 173.194.43.3:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 18ms, Average = 16ms

    C:\Users\jt>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 22ms, Maximum = 23ms, Average = 22ms

    C:\Users\jt>
     
  7. jen45

    jen45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you so much for your help. Just got home and have tried the pings etaf suggested. Hoping I can get to the bottom of this problem with help :)

    Thanks again!
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    use norton removal tool - see below

    those pings show a good connection to the internet

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. jen45

    jen45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    It worked! As soon as I used the Norton removal tool for Norton Security Suite with the link you gave, I rebooted, and the internet browser worked!

    Thank you so very much! It's an old computer but I am glad to get it back online.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060452