1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help Im Only Getting Half The Speed I Should Be

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mikeebhoy, Jun 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I HAVE A 20mbit CONNECTION WITH VIRGIN MEDIA (NTL) BUT ONLY SEEM TO BE GETTING ROUND ABOUT 10mbit WHERE AM I GOING WRONG .
    IVE TRIED VARIOUS WAYS TO SOLVE THIS BUT CANT SEEM TO GET ANYWHERE


    ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED


    MICHAEL...
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info.

    The name of your ISP and country of residence.
    Make/model of the broadband modem.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
     
  3. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    virginmedia in united kingdom
    ntl home 120 modem
    dlink di-624
    cat 5 wired connection
    belkin gigabit pci NIC
    asus P4S800
    xp pro corp sp2
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you measured speed connected directly to the modem? If so, and it's still slow, I'd contact Virgin about the issue.
     
  5. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    i have and so have virgin but they dont see what im seeing. evrything at their end looks as it should

    this is why i think the problem is with my equipment
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't know if this will work from the UK, but it should.

    Register at DSLReports and run their line quality tests. Post a link to the results here.
     
  7. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, the one test looks ugly with lots of dropped packets, don't know exactly where those nodes are. :)

    What do you get from this UK Speedtest page?
     
  9. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The only other thing I can think of is to connect a DIFFERENT machine directly to the modem, that will eliminate the machine as a source of the issue.
     
  11. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    done this already with amazing results averaging 16 Mbit , wired and wireless
    telling me that it is possibly my machine
    both lan ports on my machine give the same results , round about 8 - 9 Mbit
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're right, it sounds like your machine. :)

    Download Dr.TCP and compare the settings on the fast machine to the one that's slow.
     
  13. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    downloaded that program but aint sure what to do with it
     
  14. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Only a 10mbit connection? You poor darling.
     
  15. mikeebhoy

    mikeebhoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    although funny not really helping , buddy
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/587919

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice