1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help Install OS into a blank hdd..

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tonysou, Nov 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    I have a bad hard drive so i got a new one today. It doesn't have a OS. What steps do i do to get it going? Boot from disc as usual? Pls help me someone! :)
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What are you installing?
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Insert the CD and you should be good to go.

    If not, you'll need to configure the BIOS to read the CD/DVD drive first.
     
  4. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    Make sure to check in the boot order or BIOS to be sure the new hard drive is recognized.As suggested put in the cd and go from there. Since its a brand new harddrive for windows xp at least you can format it the quick way. I always have with new drives and have never had any problems.
     
  5. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    it should always go to bio page first correct? If it nots what can it be usually? I'm sure there's plenty but whats are things I should check?
     
  6. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    It has an error in page before bios.

    Floppy disck (s) Fail (40)
    CMOS checksum error - default loaded.

    What is this? Wont load os or boot disc or hdd.. HELP!!!!!
     
  7. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    If this is a laptop make sure the drive is in right. to get to the BIOS you can hit F1 or F2. If its listed in the BIOS then you hit F12 for the boot order then hit cd drive then you should see hit any key to boot from the cd and go from there.
     
  8. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    It is not a laptop. It's a old hp.. It's not booting my os disc.. I just baught this hard drive brand new. It does not have a jumper on it.. Could this be the reason? brand new seagate 500gig. The darn thing doesn't show place to make it main or slave..
     
  9. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    restarting a pc shouldn'y go into bios? If not what can be the cause of it? How can I get into bios if it's not..
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It should go to BIOS on boot if you press the right key. Try holding Del when it starts. Check the date and time. You may need a new battery if you got a checksum error.
     
  11. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    new battery to what? its a desktop..
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,079
    All mb have a battery. Open the case and look. Most likely a 2032 battery available at just about any store including walmart. Do make sure that is the correct part# before you buy one.
     
  13. tonysou

    tonysou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    what is mb?
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,079
    mb=motherboard
     
  15. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You can find out if the battery is bad by checking BIOS to see if it remembers settings and if the date and time are correct.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025215

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice