1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help me in Home Networking [SMCWEBT-G]

Discussion in 'Networking' started by coure06, Jul 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. coure06

    coure06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    [Scenerio]
    I have a desktop with ethernet card, a laptop with wireless network card and a device SMCWEBT-G Access Point. i have connect the AP with my desktop using cable.
    AP's IP: 192.168.2.25 subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
    Desktop's IP: 192.168.2.10 same subnet
    Laptop's IP: 192.168.2.20 same subnet

    i can ping to AP using both my desktop and Laptop.
    i can pint to Laptop from my desktop
    BUT I AM UNABLE TO PING TO MY DESKTOP USING MY LAPTOP

    how can i make a home network so i can transfer files, access internet and play games


    thanks
    Coure
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,594
    First Name:
    Terry
    "BUT I AM UNABLE TO PING TO MY DESKTOP USING MY LAPTOP"

    A firewall on the desktop is blocking.


    "how can i make a home network so i can transfer files, access internet and play games"

    To transfer files take care of the firewall problem and enable file and printer sharing on both PCs. Assign both to the same workgroup to make it easier. You can find lots of tutorials in the Help and Support Center and online.

    Accessing the internet on multiple computers is best done using a router if you have broadband access. With dial-up you can enable Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) on the PC with the internet access.
     
  3. coure06

    coure06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    thanks a lot
    now i am able to ping from both PCs. i have set the workgroup same for both computers.
    now the problem is that when open the remote computer from My Network Places it asks me for the password although i have not set any password
    how can i remove these password requirements

    Coure
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Why not describe all the environment.

    Please supply the following info.

    The name of your ISP and country of residence.
    Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
     
  5. coure06

    coure06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    ISP: Pakistan Telecommunication ,,,, Country Name: Pakistan
    VPTCL (Wireless PTCL using a wireless telephone set)
    No Router
    SMCWEBT_G AP
    Connection Type: Wired between AP and Desktop and wireless between AP and Laptop
    Make/Model of Network Card: Desktop (Intel(R) PRO/100 VE),,, Laptop(Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Netw)

    Desktop: Intel board ATX, winxp pro SP2
    Laptop: HP dv1000, winxp pro SP2
     
  6. coure06

    coure06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    thanks a lot for your co-operation
    problem is solved now. i have just turn on the Guest user in UserAccounts
     
  7. coure06

    coure06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    ooops, networking is not completely done.
    i want to share internet also.
    Internet is available to the Desktop only using a dialup. i.e. i can access the internet from Desktop after dialing into my phone. but how can i access this internet from my laptop also??

    Coure
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/594498

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice