Solved: Help me in Home Networking [SMCWEBT-G]

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

coure06

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
66
[Scenerio]
I have a desktop with ethernet card, a laptop with wireless network card and a device SMCWEBT-G Access Point. i have connect the AP with my desktop using cable.
AP's IP: 192.168.2.25 subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
Desktop's IP: 192.168.2.10 same subnet
Laptop's IP: 192.168.2.20 same subnet

i can ping to AP using both my desktop and Laptop.
i can pint to Laptop from my desktop
BUT I AM UNABLE TO PING TO MY DESKTOP USING MY LAPTOP

how can i make a home network so i can transfer files, access internet and play games


thanks
Coure
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,407
"BUT I AM UNABLE TO PING TO MY DESKTOP USING MY LAPTOP"

A firewall on the desktop is blocking.


"how can i make a home network so i can transfer files, access internet and play games"

To transfer files take care of the firewall problem and enable file and printer sharing on both PCs. Assign both to the same workgroup to make it easier. You can find lots of tutorials in the Help and Support Center and online.

Accessing the internet on multiple computers is best done using a router if you have broadband access. With dial-up you can enable Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) on the PC with the internet access.
 

coure06

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
66
thanks a lot
now i am able to ping from both PCs. i have set the workgroup same for both computers.
now the problem is that when open the remote computer from My Network Places it asks me for the password although i have not set any password
how can i remove these password requirements

Coure
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Why not describe all the environment.

Please supply the following info.

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
 

coure06

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
66
ISP: Pakistan Telecommunication ,,,, Country Name: Pakistan
VPTCL (Wireless PTCL using a wireless telephone set)
No Router
SMCWEBT_G AP
Connection Type: Wired between AP and Desktop and wireless between AP and Laptop
Make/Model of Network Card: Desktop (Intel(R) PRO/100 VE),,, Laptop(Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Netw)

Desktop: Intel board ATX, winxp pro SP2
Laptop: HP dv1000, winxp pro SP2
 

coure06

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
66
thanks a lot for your co-operation
problem is solved now. i have just turn on the Guest user in UserAccounts
 

coure06

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
66
ooops, networking is not completely done.
i want to share internet also.
Internet is available to the Desktop only using a dialup. i.e. i can access the internet from Desktop after dialing into my phone. but how can i access this internet from my laptop also??

Coure
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top