Solved: Help!!! Mozilla Firefox is acting up!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tce

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
19
Hello,

After I got my laptop back to normal, I realized that there's something wrong with mozilla firefox. When I opened mozilla firefox, it came up but there was like a divider with status bar being in the middle and below it, a white blank space. There was nothing below the staus line except an up arrow on the left side where I couldn't even click on. And so, I wanted to look up the problem online, so I tried to open another mozilla firefox. I couldn't open it. I tried it again and again. then, I wanted to remove it from my laptop, so i went to control panel to remove it and reinstalled it after that. The same problem came up. So now, I don't know what to do. What do you all recommend? How can I get mozilla back to normal? Please help me!
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
When you uninstall Firefox, it doesn't delete your profile folder. You can create a new profile and see if that solves the problem in case your profile is corrupt.
First, I would run Firefox in safe mode to be sure that an extension isn't causing the problem.
Start> Mozilla Firefox> Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode).
This runs Firefox without any extensions and the default theme.
 

tce

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
19
I ran firefox in safe mode and it worked fine. I could open a new window too. So, what do I do now to fix it? Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
In Firefox, click on Tools> Add-ons and disable all of them.
Then enable one at a time until you find the one causing the problem.
Then uninstall it or look for an update for it.
 

tce

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
19
I don't see Add-ons under tools. There are only:
Web Search
Read Mail
New Message
Downloads
Extensions
Themes
JavaScript Console
Page Info
Clear Private DAta
Options
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
You must have an older version of Firefox. Add-ons are in Firefox 2.0.0.1
Your version has Extensions. You might want to upgrade, if not, then click on Extensions.
You might need to disable any theme, if you have one.
 

tce

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
19
You are a genius! I disabled google web accelerator and it was back to normal. I don't think I need it since I upgraded to firefox 2. Thanks for taking your time to help me! You certainly made my day better.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
You are very welcome.:)
You can mark this solved from the thread tools at the top of your post.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top